HomeHip & KneeAustralia
Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Hip & Knee

Adult Lower Limb Arthroplasty and Reconstruction Fellowship (NSW1328)

Orthocentre / Kareena Private Hospital

Caringbah and Wollongong, New South Wales · Australia directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Michael Dixon and Anthony Leong

Profile completeness94%
Comprehensive · Missing commencement date
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Historical published stipend: AUD 90,000 per year
Deadline
Twelve months before the desired start in the dated summary; no current cycle is published
Duration
6 or 12 months in the AOA summary updated 17 June 2014
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
31 Aug 2026
Duration · published6 or 12 months in the AOA summary updated 17 June 2014
Clinical exposurePrimary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty, hip and knee arthroscopy, knee reconstruction and clinical research for presentation and publication across the historical Kareena Private, St Vincent's Private, Sutherland and Wollongong hospital network
Funding · publishedHistorical published stipend: AUD 90,000 per year
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Partially published

International applicant eligibility

AOA accreditation does not establish eligibility for applicants trained in Indonesia. Confirm AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing, English-language evidence and visa sponsorship with the host.

Published by official source

Required training level

FRACS in orthopaedic surgery or equivalent · For international applicants, IELTS Academic score of at least 7 in every competency

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Partially published

Medical registration

Current AHPRA registration and host credentialing requirements are not stated in the dated summary and must be confirmed.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

Published by official source

Language requirements

The dated summary requires international applicants to hold IELTS Academic with at least 7 in each competency.

Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation arrangements are not established by AOA accreditation.

Published by official source

Funding availability

Historical published stipend: AUD 90,000 per year

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

45% of core application fields verified

Checked 31 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-27. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtyofficial contactfacultyverified faculty photographverified institution logoofficial sourceinstitutional sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification dateCurrent availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmedduration · historical evidence onlypositions · not published by the cited official sourcecommencement / intake · not published by the cited official sourceFunding information not published · historical evidence onlybenefits · historical evidence onlyaccommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official sourceeligibility · historical evidence onlyinternational eligibility · historical evidence onlyLanguage requirement not published · historical evidence onlyRegistration information not published · not published by the cited official sourcevisa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official sourceCurrent deadline not yet published · historical evidence onlyapplication process · historical evidence onlyrequired documents · historical evidence onlyapplication portal · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineTwelve months before the desired start in the dated summary; no current cycle is published
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleThe dated summary requests email application with documents twelve months before the desired start; current operation of the pathway must be confirmed with Orthocentre or AOA
Official contactOrthocentre reception; dated summary contact Michael Dixonreception@orthocentre.com.au+61 2 9525 2055

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • FRACS in orthopaedic surgery or equivalent
  • For international applicants, IELTS Academic score of at least 7 in every competency
Registration, licence & examinations

Current AHPRA registration and host credentialing requirements are not stated in the dated summary and must be confirmed.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation arrangements are not established by AOA accreditation.

Application documents
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Photograph
  • Three references

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A six- or twelve-month adult lower-limb fellowship covering primary and revision arthroplasty, arthroscopy, knee reconstruction and research. The named Orthocentre faculty are current, while duration, stipend, hospital network, eligibility and twelve-month application lead time come from a 2014 summary.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Clinical research and publication work plus adult lower-limb reconstruction experience across public and private hospitals

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

3 listed faculty members

MDInstitution associated with Michael Dixon

Program lead: Michael Dixon

Chief supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Orthocentre
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Michael Dixon is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Adult Lower Limb Arthroplasty and Reconstruction Fellowship (NSW1328). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Michael Dixon is listed by the official programme source as chief supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
ALInstitution associated with Anthony Leong

Faculty: Anthony Leong

Chief supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthocentre
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Anthony Leong is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Adult Lower Limb Arthroplasty and Reconstruction Fellowship (NSW1328). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Anthony Leong is listed by the official programme source as chief supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
MGInstitution associated with Michael Goldberg

Faculty: Michael Goldberg

Co-supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthocentre
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Michael Goldberg is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Adult Lower Limb Arthroplasty and Reconstruction Fellowship (NSW1328). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Michael Goldberg is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

Current AOA Arthroplasty-directory identity rechecked 31 August 2026; programme summary last updated 17 June 2014. Orthocentre currently confirms all three named supervisors and the Caringbah host, not the historical fellowship terms.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Post-specialist orthopaedic surgeons seeking advanced adult hip and knee reconstruction training; programme-specific qualification and registration criteria apply

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS

Published language requirement

The dated summary requires international applicants to hold IELTS Academic with at least 7 in each competency.

OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.

INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

AOA accreditation does not establish eligibility for applicants trained in Indonesia. Confirm AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing, English-language evidence and visa sponsorship with the host.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.