✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Rush institutional PGY-6 rate is USD 90,308 for 2025–26 plus house-staff stipends; the fellowship page does not state its appointment level
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
1 Sep 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureOne-month faculty mentorship rotations with high-volume clinic and surgery, complex hindfoot reconstruction, total ankle arthroplasty, minimally invasive surgery and arthroscopy; two weekly didactics, monthly journal club, research and professional-team/Joffrey Ballet coverage
Funding · publishedRush institutional PGY-6 rate is USD 90,308 for 2025–26 plus house-staff stipends; the fellowship page does not state its appointment level
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The official AOFAS programme summary limits applicants to graduates of United States or Canadian residency programmes.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Complete the orthopaedic residency and selection prerequisites accepted by the fellowship · Meet Rush appointment and hospital credentialing requirements · Applicants must have completed qualifying orthopaedic residency training in the United States or Canada
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Eligibility for permanent Illinois medical licensure is required under Rush's fellowship appointment policy; the programme page does not publish a separate USMLE score threshold.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
No standalone English-test threshold is published for this programme. Its official eligibility route instead requires qualifying orthopaedic residency training in the United States or Canada.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Rush's current non-ACGME fellowship eligibility list states that the Foot & Ankle Fellowship is not eligible to recruit applicants requiring J-1 sponsorship.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Rush institutional PGY-6 rate is USD 90,308 for 2025–26 plus house-staff stipends; the fellowship page does not state its appointment level
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
86% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Sep 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-28. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateThe programme-specific dates for the 2027–2028 post-Match vacancy are not published. AOFAS says matched one-year foot-and-ankle fellowships generally run 1 August–31 July; confirm this vacancy's dates directly.
Application route / cycle2027-2028 open post-Match position; contact the programme directly
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Complete the orthopaedic residency and selection prerequisites accepted by the fellowship
Meet Rush appointment and hospital credentialing requirements
Applicants must have completed qualifying orthopaedic residency training in the United States or Canada
Registration, licence & examinations
Eligibility for permanent Illinois medical licensure is required under Rush's fellowship appointment policy; the programme page does not publish a separate USMLE score threshold.
Visa / work authorisation
Rush's current non-ACGME fellowship eligibility list states that the Foot & Ankle Fellowship is not eligible to recruit applicants requiring J-1 sponsorship.
Application documents
AOFAS/SF Match Central Application Service form, including personal statement
Curriculum vitae
USMLE Step 1, COMLEX Level 1 or equivalent result
Letter of good standing or Status Report Form from the residency director
Three letters of reference
Any vacancy-specific documents requested directly by Rush for the post-Match route
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A current post-Match Rush vacancy with four foot-and-ankle faculty, one-to-one clinical rotations, high-volume surgery, two expected manuscripts and performing-arts coverage. Apply by direct programme contact and confirm exact dates; AOFAS's central document checklist is provided.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Rush house-staff health and welfare coverage, retirement-plan eligibility and a GME educational stipend; the appointment agreement determines the final package and level.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush / Rush University Medical Center
Rush publishes a twelve-month, high-volume programme with four current faculty, one-to-one rotations, weekly teaching, two required manuscripts, Joffrey Ballet coverage and direct coordinator details. AOFAS publishes the centralized document set and the current 2027–2028 post-Match vacancy.
Fellowship Director · Associate ProfessorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush / Rush University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Simon Lee is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director · associate professor for Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush Foot & Ankle Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Completed orthopaedic residency at the University of Illinois Chicago and foot-and-ankle fellowship training at OrthoCarolina; he directs Rush's mentorship-model fellowship.
Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush / Rush University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Johnny L. Lin is listed in the cited programme evidence as core faculty for Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush Foot & Ankle Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Johnny L. Lin is listed by the official programme source as core faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush / Rush University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel D. Bohl is listed in the cited programme evidence as core faculty for Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush Foot & Ankle Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel D. Bohl is listed by the official programme source as core faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush / Rush University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Edward Hur is listed in the cited programme evidence as core faculty for Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush Foot & Ankle Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Edward Hur is listed by the official programme source as core faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
AOFAS currently lists an open 2027–2028 post-Match position and instructs applicants to contact the programme directly. The current Rush University page publishes Carla Candos at 312-432-2563; a prior transcribed 312-409 number is corrected. Programme-specific dates, English-test and housing terms remain unpublished.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The official AOFAS programme summary limits applicants to graduates of United States or Canadian residency programmes.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.