Well sourced · Source does not publish duration, funding, application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Historical requirements — confirm current terms
Funding
Historical 2025 proposal: self-funded, fee-paying course, total $40,000 as written in the document, or 8 instalments of $5,000. No employee pay is stated and current fees are not confirmed.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
About 7 months, 1,000 hours (2025 course: 1 January to 31 July 2025), Monday to Friday 08:00–14:00
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Teaching contentSupervised participation in pre-operative clinics, hip arthroplasty surgery and inpatient care (about 4 patients per week in each setting), covering primary, complex primary and revision hip arthroplasty, implant selection and post-operative follow-up; 16 classes in 4 modules with daily case discussion; 10% distance activities.
Participation levelEducational course. Attendance does not itself confer clinical privileges.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
International applicants
The historical proposal permits graduates of foreign universities, with up to 2 places in that category within an overall maximum 3 participants. Professional authorisation is required, but foreign-degree recognition, local licensing steps, language requirements and immigration conditions are not specified.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Educational attendance; not a clinical fellowship or licence. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
Medical registration
The historical proposal requires a medical degree with authorisation to practise medicine. It does not specify the foreign-degree recognition or local registration process for supervised clinical participation.
—Not published
Language
A required teaching language or formal language-test threshold is not explicitly published in the reviewed course webpage/proposal; language is not inferred from the Spanish text.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa, residence and work-authorisation terms are not published in the reviewed course webpage/proposal.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY38% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-11 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-09
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— duration · historical evidence only— positions · historical evidence only— commencement / intake · official sources conflict— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · historical evidence only— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · historical evidence only— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · historical evidence only— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateHistorical 2025 proposal:1 January–31 July 2025; the 2025 course webpage instead says dates to be confirmed. No 2026–2027 hip-course intake is confirmed.
Application route / cycleThe 2025 proposal directs all enrolment to UNLP’s Department of Postgraduate Studies and requires a copy of the degree. Enquire with the department about any later hip-course edition; the separate 2026 knee-reconstruction course is not treated as a new hip-course cycle.
Official contactUNLP Faculty of Medical Sciences — Department of Postgraduate Studies (general course enquiries)postgrado@med.unlp.edu.ar
Historical information only — confirm current terms
Medical degree with licence to practise
Orthopaedic residents in training or orthopaedic specialists
Application documents
Historical information only — confirm current terms
Copy of the medical/undergraduate degree, submitted with enrolment to the Department of Postgraduate Studies (historical 2025 proposal)
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
Seven-month intensive hip reconstruction training run by UNLP's orthopaedic chair with the Hip and Knee Unit of HIGA San Martín in La Plata, for orthopaedic residents and specialists. The document found covers the 2025 edition; check with UNLP for later editions.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Historical 2025 proposal exempts active UNLP Medical Sciences doctoral students and ordinary faculty from course fees, subject to a limit of 50% of participants. No current waiver entitlement or employment benefit is confirmed.
HOST INSTITUTION
About HIGA San Martín de La Plata, Hip and Knee Unit / Facultad de Ciencias Médicas, Universidad Nacional de La Plata
Postgraduate hip-reconstruction course organised by UNLP’s Orthopaedics and Traumatology chair with HIGA San Martín’s Hip and Knee Unit in La Plata. The proposal provides 1,000 contact hours, supervised clinical participation and course assessment for the historical 2025 edition.
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy