Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureOcciput-to-sacrum spine practice covering degenerative disease, tumour, adolescent and adult deformity, infection, trauma and the state spinal cord injury service, with two research papers expected
Funding · not publishedAUD 80,000 in the detailed 2025 AOA–NSA profile
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Requires AHPRA registration and FRACS or an accepted orthopaedic/neurosurgical equivalent
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Requires AHPRA registration and FRACS or an accepted orthopaedic/neurosurgical equivalent
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
AUD 80,000 in the detailed 2025 AOA–NSA profile
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
55% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleThe programme remains listed by the official AOA PFET pathway; contact the programme for current recruitment timing
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Requires AHPRA registration and FRACS or an accepted orthopaedic/neurosurgical equivalent
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month clinical and research post spanning the full spine from occiput to sacrum. The profile includes complex deformity, tumour, infection and trauma work and expects the fellow to complete two research papers.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Austin Health / University of Melbourne Spinal Surgery Unit
Austin Health's University of Melbourne-affiliated spinal unit includes public and private practice and Victoria's state spinal cord injury service.
Programme lead / named supervisorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Austin Health / University of Melbourne Spinal Surgery Unit
Clinical focus
Spine
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Gerald M.Y. Quan is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme lead / named supervisor for Austin Health Clinical and Research Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Gerald M.Y. Quan is listed by the official programme source as programme lead / named supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Requires AHPRA registration and FRACS or an accepted orthopaedic/neurosurgical equivalent
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.