Comprehensive · Source does not publish funding, commencement date
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
Not published
Deadline
15 September 2026 (2026 programme; closed)
Duration
3 weeks (each fellow is attached to one APSS Spine Centre)
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Clinical exposureShort clinical attachment to Md Shah Alam's spine team at an APSS-listed Spine Centre, for in-depth learning and close interaction with spine surgeons in the Asia-Pacific region. The 2026 cohort concludes by submitting abstracts to the 15th Combined Meeting of APSS and APPOS with the 56th JSSR Annual Meeting (16–18 April 2027, Kyoto).
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Open to APSS members across the Asia-Pacific, including Indonesia, who meet the APSS membership (3+ years), age (45 or under) and spine-practice criteria.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied. Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Host-country registration and clinical privileges are not specified in the 2026 call.
✓Published by official source
Language
Must communicate effectively in English (APSS criterion).
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Applicants must be legally able to travel abroad; country-specific visa category or sponsorship is not specified.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY76% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-14 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-12
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 September 2026 (2026 programme; closed)
Commencing dateIndividual attachment dates not published; the 2026 cohort concludes with the 16–18 April 2027 APSS/APPOS/JSSR meeting in Kyoto.
Application route / cycleAnnual APSS call. The 2026 programme call closed on 15 September 2026 (APSS page shows 'Application Closed'); the next call is not yet published.
APSS member with an active, paid-up membership for at least 3 years (preference to APSS life members)
Age 45 years or less
Effective English communication and legal status to travel abroad
University postgraduate degree or country equivalent
Active in spine practice (at least 50% of workload spine surgery)
Not a previous recipient of any APSS fellowship
Application documents
Published by official source
Fellowship application form
Brief CV (max 4 pages)
Scanned certificates and qualifications
Two letters of recommendation (APSS chapter representatives, heads of spine/orthopaedic departments or presidents of local societies)
Passport-size photograph (JPEG)
Passport copy with at least 6 months' validity
One spine abstract (max 300 words)
Application criteria form
2024–2025 spine logbook
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
Bangladesh Spine & Orthopedic Hospital (BSOH) is one of the APSS-listed Spine Centres that host APSS spine fellows, with Md Shah Alam named as host. APSS Medtronic Spine Clinical Fellows spend three weeks attached to a host centre; the 2026 call (10 fellowships) closed on 15 September 2026.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Travel, insurance, meal and other benefit entitlements are not published in the reviewed 2026 call.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Host housing and its funding are not published in the reviewed 2026 call; confirm with APSS and the assigned centre.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Bangladesh Spine & Orthopedic Hospital (BSOH)
Bangladesh Spine & Orthopedic Hospital (BSOH) in Dhaka, Bangladesh is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes short clinical attachment to Md Shah Alam's spine team at an APSS-listed Spine Centre, for in-depth learning and close interaction with spine surgeons in the Asia-Pacific region. The 2026 cohort concludes by submitting abstracts to the 15th Combined Meeting of APSS and APPOS with the 56th JSSR Annual Meeting (16–18 April 2027, Kyoto)..
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy