Names in the programme record: Ryan Trickett and Andrew Logan
Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
Salary paid by Cardiff and Vale UHB
Deadline
Applications open in January each year; no closing date is stated
Duration
12 months from August; a 6-month appointment may be considered depending on the applicant
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureBroad orthopaedic hand surgery apart from congenital, replantation and microvascular work, with busy hand trauma, major-trauma-centre support, research, quality improvement and BSSH Hand Diploma support
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
International doctors may apply only when they satisfy an eligible GMC registration route and the employing trust's selection requirements. BSSH directory inclusion does not confirm that an individual trust accepts international applicants or provides visa sponsorship.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Clinical practice requires the appropriate GMC registration and licence. International graduates must use an eligible GMC route and provide the medical qualification, experience, English, identity and good-standing evidence required for that route.
✓Published by official source
Language
Doctors who need UK registration must satisfy the GMC that they have the English knowledge needed to practise safely; accepted evidence depends on the applicant's registration route.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Applicants who need UK work permission must confirm sponsorship with the employing organisation. The Health and Care Worker route requires an eligible job, approved employer, certificate of sponsorship, applicable salary and English requirements; directory inclusion does not confirm sponsorship.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY76% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-08 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— institutional source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineApplications open in January each year; no closing date is stated
Commencing dateAugust (year not stated)
Application route / cycleApplications open January each year, interviews in February (year not stated); 12-month August-to-August post (6 months may be considered). Contact Mr Ryan Trickett.
Confirm employing-board registration, credentialing and right-to-work requirements
Appropriate prior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery training for the employing trust's fellowship post
Eligibility for the GMC registration and licence required for the post
Satisfaction of the employing trust's clinical competence, identity, good-standing and credentialing requirements
Application documents
Not published
Not published by the cited official source.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A salaried Cardiff hand fellowship with broad orthopaedic hand and trauma exposure, research and quality-improvement time and support for the BSSH Hand Diploma. The usual term is 12 months from August, with six months potentially considered.
Intended for: Senior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery trainees and post-training surgeons seeking advanced hand-surgery experience; host-specific entry criteria apply
HOST INSTITUTION
About Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
The April 2026 BSSH host form publishes the annual August start, salaried employment, post/peri-CCT audience, five-consultant team and direct application contact.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom · Historical 2016 form: 12 months, divided into 6 months of hand/wrist and 6 months of shoulder/elbow trainingView program profile →
British Society for Surgery of the Hand / Orthopaedic Research UK
United Kingdom · host university or NHS trust selected through the project · 2 years full-time, or longer at a minimum of 0.5 FTEView program profile →
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy