Home›Hand & Microsurgery›United Kingdom
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipUpcoming cycle
Hand & Microsurgery →

Great Ormond Street Hospital Hand Fellowship

Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ London · United Kingdom directory →

Names in the programme record: Gill Smith

Profile completeness90%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish duration, application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY

Key facts at a glance

Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
Doctor - other, fixed term 6 months: £42,321 to £57,570 a year basic salary pro rata, as advertised October 2023
Deadline
Advertised in October; the current host form does not publish an exact closing date
Duration
Not published
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureComplex congenital hand and upper-limb surgery, distal-foot reconstruction and selected exposure to craniofacial, cleft and vascular-anomaly services, with expected clinical-research participation
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

Can an international surgeon apply?

≈Partially published

International applicants

International doctors may apply only when they satisfy an eligible GMC registration route and the employing trust's selection requirements. BSSH directory inclusion does not confirm that an individual trust accepts international applicants or provides visa sponsorship.

?Confirm directly with host

Clinical role

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Clinical practice requires the appropriate GMC registration and licence. International graduates must use an eligible GMC route and provide the medical qualification, experience, English, identity and good-standing evidence required for that route.

✓Published by official source

Language

Doctors who need UK registration must satisfy the GMC that they have the English knowledge needed to practise safely; accepted evidence depends on the applicant's registration route.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Applicants who need UK work permission must confirm sponsorship with the employing organisation. The Health and Care Worker route requires an eligible job, approved employer, certificate of sponsorship, applicable salary and English requirements; directory inclusion does not confirm sponsorship.

DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY79% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-08 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · not published by the cited official source— positions · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application portal · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineAdvertised in October; the current host form does not publish an exact closing date
Commencing dateFebruary (year not stated)
Application route / cycleAdvertised in October for a February start (year not stated); interview date TBC. Contact Gill Smith.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility

Published by official source

  • Consultant, post-CCT or peri-exam applicant
  • Confirm GOSH appointment, GMC and right-to-work requirements
  • Appropriate prior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery training for the employing trust's fellowship post
  • Eligibility for the GMC registration and licence required for the post
  • Satisfaction of the employing trust's clinical competence, identity, good-standing and credentialing requirements
Application documents

Published by official source

  • Application form returned electronically
  • Curriculum vitae returned electronically
PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A highly specialised Great Ormond Street fellowship centred on complex congenital hand, upper-limb and distal-foot reconstruction with multidisciplinary paediatric plastic-surgery exposure. Recruitment is usually advertised in October for February, but the active vacancy must be confirmed.

Intended for: Senior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery trainees and post-training surgeons seeking advanced hand-surgery experience; host-specific entry criteria apply

FACULTY & PROGRAMME CONTACTS

7 listed faculty and programme contacts

GS

Faculty: Gill Smith

Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Position / status
Consultant plastic surgeon
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice

Gill Smith is listed at Great Ormond Street Hospital as a consultant plastic surgeon specialising in congenital hand surgery.

Individual sources reviewed No official profile verified yet · search the web (unverified):Google ↗LinkedIn ↗Supporting official source 1 ↗
NBNeil Bulstrode, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: Neil Bulstrode

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Official individual profile ↗
DDDavid Dunaway, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: David Dunaway

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Official individual profile ↗
JBJonathan Britto, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: Jonathan Britto

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Consultant plastic surgeon
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Plastic, reconstructive and craniofacial surgery

Jonathan Britto is a consultant plastic surgeon whose practice includes plastic, reconstructive and craniofacial surgery.

Individual sources reviewed Official individual profile ↗
LKLoshan Kangesu, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: Loshan Kangesu

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Official individual profile ↗
GTGuy Thorburn, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: Guy Thorburn

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Official individual profile ↗
PMPaul Morris, fellowship faculty at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust

Faculty: Paul Morris

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Official individual profile ↗

Names and roles come from the cited programme source; portraits are shown only from an official profile. Rosters may change.

Your choice: optional Google Analytics

Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional analytics

With your permission, Google Analytics helps us understand which types of pages are useful. We send page categories, not your search text, application notes or contact details. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow.

Current choice: Not chosen — analytics is off. Choices are remembered on this device for up to 180 days.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy