Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
Doctor - other, fixed term 12 months: £63,152 a year per annum plus rota enhancements, as advertised October 2024
Deadline
See the relevant NHS Jobs advert; no current closing date is published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureElective and trauma hand surgery at Queen Victoria Hospital
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
International doctors may apply only when they satisfy an eligible GMC registration route and the employing trust's selection requirements. BSSH directory inclusion does not confirm that an individual trust accepts international applicants or provides visa sponsorship.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Clinical practice requires the appropriate GMC registration and licence. International graduates must use an eligible GMC route and provide the medical qualification, experience, English, identity and good-standing evidence required for that route.
✓Published by official source
Language
Doctors who need UK registration must satisfy the GMC that they have the English knowledge needed to practise safely; accepted evidence depends on the applicant's registration route.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Applicants who need UK work permission must confirm sponsorship with the employing organisation. The Health and Care Worker route requires an eligible job, approved employer, certificate of sponsorship, applicable salary and English requirements; directory inclusion does not confirm sponsorship.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY83% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-08 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineSee the relevant NHS Jobs advert; no current closing date is published
Commencing dateJuly (year not stated)
Application route / cycleAdvertised in October for a July start (year not stated); closing date on NHS Jobs. Contact Robert Pearl.
Applicant requirements are delegated to the relevant NHS advert
Confirm GMC, employing-trust and right-to-work requirements
Appropriate prior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery training for the employing trust's fellowship post
Eligibility for the GMC registration and licence required for the post
Satisfaction of the employing trust's clinical competence, identity, good-standing and credentialing requirements
Application documents
Not published
Not published by the cited official source.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month Queen Victoria Hospital fellowship covering elective and trauma hand surgery. Recruitment is usually advertised in October for July, but the active advert, eligibility and closing date must be confirmed on NHS Jobs.
Intended for: Senior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery trainees and post-training surgeons seeking advanced hand-surgery experience; host-specific entry criteria apply
HOST INSTITUTION
About Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
The January 2026 BSSH host form publishes a 12-month July-start structure and current team, but sends eligibility and deadlines to an NHS advert and links only a 2024 example.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial individual profile verified
Position / status
Consultant plastic surgeon
Affiliation
Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand surgery
Robert Pearl specialises in hand surgery at Queen Victoria Hospital. His hand fellowship training included Great Ormond Street Hospital, Windsor and Queen Victoria Hospital.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom · Historical 2016 form: 12 months, divided into 6 months of hand/wrist and 6 months of shoulder/elbow trainingView program profile →
British Society for Surgery of the Hand / Orthopaedic Research UK
United Kingdom · host university or NHS trust selected through the project · 2 years full-time, or longer at a minimum of 0.5 FTEView program profile →
Edinburgh Trauma FellowshipTrauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum · Edinburgh Orthopaedic Trauma Unit · Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Your choice: optional Google Analytics
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy