✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Individual remuneration was to be agreed with the department and fixed contractually; no amount was published
Deadline
30 June 2026 — historical call closed
Duration
4–12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · published4–12 months
Clinical exposureSide-by-side shoulder fellowship with a tailored timetable and workload, progressive individual practice and exposure to the full spectrum of joint pathology at AZ Sint-Lucas Gent
Funding · publishedIndividual remuneration was to be agreed with the department and fixed contractually; no amount was published
DestinationBelgium
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Recently graduated orthopaedic surgeon seeking four to twelve months of further subspecialty training
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Individual remuneration was to be agreed with the department and fixed contractually; no amount was published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
24% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ institutional source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · historical evidence only— duration · historical evidence only— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · historical evidence only— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · historical evidence only— official contact · historical evidence only— Faculty information requires reverification · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Verified institution logo not available · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · historical evidence only— accreditation / organisation source · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline30 June 2026 — historical call closed
Commencing dateHistorical call ran until 30 June 2026
Application route / cycleHistorical ORTHO.GENT call for hip, shoulder and knee fellowships; the published listing ended on 30 June 2026 and no replacement call has been verified
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Recently graduated orthopaedic surgeon seeking four to twelve months of further subspecialty training
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Motivation letter
Curriculum vitae
Recommendation letter
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A four-to-twelve-month Ghent shoulder fellowship with side-by-side teaching, a tailored schedule and progressive independence. Its published call ended on 30 June 2026, so the profile is retained for programme history and is not presented as currently recruiting.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Tailored timetable, side-by-side subspecialty teaching and progressive independence within a ten-surgeon single-joint specialist group
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About ORTHO.GENT / AZ Sint-Lucas Gent
ORTHO.GENT delivers subspecialty orthopaedic care at AZ Sint-Lucas Gent. The Belgian resident association listing describes a side-by-side fellowship model with progressive independence.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking focused postgraduate shoulder training