✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
15 February 2026 (closed)
Duration
1 week immediately before the 2026 FESSH Congress
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 week immediately before the 2026 FESSH Congress
Clinical exposureZurich pathway in implant research, 3D planning and printing, motion analysis, study design, REDCap and statistics; Basel pathway in tissue engineering, advanced 3D printing and laser osteotomy
Funding · not publishedMaximum EUR 1,000 per fellow for travel, accommodation and subsistence, plus admission to the 2026 FESSH Congress and its educational afternoon
DestinationSwitzerland
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Full-paying, resident or young member of a national hand society holding full FESSH membership · Lives and works in Europe · Previous successful candidates must wait at least five years before another award
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Maximum EUR 1,000 per fellow for travel, accommodation and subsistence, plus admission to the 2026 FESSH Congress and its educational afternoon
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
76% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Faculty information requires reverification · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 February 2026 (closed)
Commencing date26 May 2026
Application route / cycleThe published 2026 fellowship has concluded; monitor the official page for the next call
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Full-paying, resident or young member of a national hand society holding full FESSH membership
Lives and works in Europe
Previous successful candidates must wait at least five years before another award
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Two-page CV including FESSH-event attendance and research presentations/publications
One recommendation letter from the applicant's head of training
500-word personal statement
Written confirmation that funding will be returned if travel does not occur
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-week research immersion immediately before the FESSH Congress. The official 2026 page defines two Swiss pathways, the research curriculum, funding ceiling, eligibility, documents and staged payment terms.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Structured interaction with research teams, exposure to clinical and scientific research methods, presentation of experience and plans at the FESSH Congress, and Congress admission.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Maximum EUR 1,000 per fellow for travel, accommodation and subsistence, plus admission to the 2026 FESSH Congress and its educational afternoon
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Schulthess Clinic, Balgrist University Hospital or University Hospital Basel
The 2026 call offered a Zurich combination of Schulthess and Balgrist or a University Hospital Basel biomedical-engineering pathway, each with a different published research focus.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
FESSH publishes winners for the 2024, 2025 and 2026 Research Fellowship cycles.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Young or established surgeons who are members of FESSH-represented national societies and live and work in Europe