Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Hand & Microsurgery

FESSH Travel Award

Applicant-selected recognised European hand-surgery centre(s)

Europe · Europe directory →

Profile completeness74%
Well sourced · Missing funding, faculty profile, host profile
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
15 September annually
Duration
Applicant-defined clinical visit between 1 January and 31 December of the year following the award
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · publishedApplicant-defined clinical visit between 1 January and 31 December of the year following the award
Clinical exposureClinical activity at one or more recognised European hand-surgery training centres selected with the host before application
Funding · not publishedUp to EUR 4,000 per applicant for travel and accommodation; two thirds paid before travel and the final third after the required confirmations, receipts and report
DestinationEurope
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

Published by official source

Required training level

Full-paying member of a national hand society holding full FESSH membership · Lives and works in Europe · Host is a recognised hand-surgery training centre in another European country whose society is a FESSH member · Established surgeons are expected to have passed the European Board of Hand Surgery examination · Previous recipients must wait at least five years before receiving the award again

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Not published

Medical registration

Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

No licensing-examination information is published.

Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

Not published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.

Published by official source

Funding availability

Up to EUR 4,000 per applicant for travel and accommodation; two thirds paid before travel and the final third after the required confirmations, receipts and report

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

72% of core application fields verified

Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtycurrent status evidencedurationcommencement / intakebenefitsaccommodation / relocationeligibilitydeadlineapplication processrequired documentsapplication portalofficial contactverified institution logoofficial sourceinstitutional sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification datepositions · queued for source reviewFunding information not published · queued for source reviewinternational eligibility · queued for source reviewLanguage requirement not published · queued for source reviewRegistration information not published · queued for source reviewvisa / work authorisation · queued for source reviewFaculty information requires reverification · queued for source reviewVerified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadline15 September annually
Commencing dateAny date from 1 January–31 December in the year following the award
Application route / cycleApplications open after 15 June and close 15 September; decisions are announced by 10 October
Official contactFESSH Secretariatoffice@fessh.com+36 70 360-0304

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Full-paying member of a national hand society holding full FESSH membership
  • Lives and works in Europe
  • Host is a recognised hand-surgery training centre in another European country whose society is a FESSH member
  • Established surgeons are expected to have passed the European Board of Hand Surgery examination
  • Previous recipients must wait at least five years before receiving the award again
Registration, licence & examinations

AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Application documents
  • Four-page CV with photograph, current appointment, FESSH activity and relevant publications
  • Host-centre acceptance letter
  • Two recommendation letters; one from the head of training for trainee applicants
  • One-page visit plan with daily programme, expected surgical cases and clinics, specialist interest and budget
  • 500-word personal statement
  • Required written confirmations about repayment, EBHS examination and the post-visit poster

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A recurring FESSH award that lets the applicant design a cross-border clinical visit at a recognised European hand centre. The award is not an automatic placement: host acceptance and a detailed visit plan are required before application.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Flexible cross-border visit focused on the applicant's stated specialist interest, supported travel and accommodation, and exchange of techniques and clinical practice.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION

Published housing information

✓ Official source mentions accommodation

Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Flexible cross-border visit focused on the applicant's stated specialist interest, supported travel and accommodation, and exchange of techniques and clinical practice.

Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Faculty roster requires verification

The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.

Check official faculty information

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Hand surgeons in training and established hand surgeons who live and work in Europe