✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
The current programme page links to institutional stipends and benefits but does not state the appointed fellow's pay level or amount
Deadline
2 November 2026 suggested complete-application deadline for the current OTA Match
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
31 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureAdult and paediatric Level I trauma, pelvis-acetabulum, difficult periarticular and long-bone fractures, upper-extremity and foot-ankle fractures, nonunion, bone loss, infection and Ilizarov or spatial-frame reconstruction
Funding · publishedThe current programme page links to institutional stipends and benefits but does not state the appointed fellow's pay level or amount
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The host requires an accredited orthopaedic surgery residency and board eligibility, while the current OTA list marks international medical graduates NO. An Indonesian specialist qualification alone is not eligible.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completion of an accredited orthopaedic surgery residency · Board eligibility in orthopaedic surgery · Current OTA indicators: Canadian graduates YES; international medical graduates NO
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Pennsylvania medical licensing and Penn State Health credentialing must be satisfied.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
The current OTA list marks international medical graduates NO; OTA does not guarantee visa eligibility or sponsorship.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
The current programme page links to institutional stipends and benefits but does not state the appointed fellow's pay level or amount
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 31 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-27. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline2 November 2026 suggested complete-application deadline for the current OTA Match
Commencing dateAugust 2028 for the current OTA Match pathway
Application route / cycleOTA 2027 Fellowship Match for training beginning August 2028: registration opened 3 August 2026, programmes notify interview intent by 1 December 2026, rank lists close 6 April 2027 and Match Day is 13 April 2027
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completion of an accredited orthopaedic surgery residency
Board eligibility in orthopaedic surgery
Current OTA indicators: Canadian graduates YES; international medical graduates NO
Registration, licence & examinations
Pennsylvania medical licensing and Penn State Health credentialing must be satisfied.
Visa / work authorisation
The current OTA list marks international medical graduates NO; OTA does not guarantee visa eligibility or sponsorship.
Application documents
OTA/SF Match personal and additional information form
Curriculum vitae
Medical examination transcripts
Letter of good standing
Three letters of reference
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-position Hershey fellowship with detailed pelvis, acetabulum, periarticular, foot-ankle, upper-extremity and frame-reconstruction volumes. Eligibility, faculty and contact are current; appointed salary and benefit details require confirmation.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Programme-specific employment benefits are not stated on the reviewed fellowship page; institutional GME benefit resources are linked for confirmation
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center / Penn State College of Medicine
Penn State publishes one position, current faculty and coordinator, eligibility, call, five-year average case volumes and broad reconstruction exposure.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center / Penn State College of Medicine
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Henry Boateng is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Penn State Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Henry Boateng is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JD
Faculty: Jana Davis
Programme DirectorOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Clinical focus
Orthopaedic trauma
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jana Davis is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme director for Penn State Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Orthopaedic trauma. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jana Davis is listed by the official programme source as programme director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center / Penn State College of Medicine
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kevin Perry is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Penn State Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kevin Perry is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
GF
Faculty: Gary F. Updegrove
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center / Penn State College of Medicine
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Gary F. Updegrove is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Penn State Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Gary F. Updegrove is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgery graduates seeking advanced trauma or fracture training; the OTA graduate-acceptance columns and host-specific criteria apply
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The host requires an accredited orthopaedic surgery residency and board eligibility, while the current OTA list marks international medical graduates NO. An Indonesian specialist qualification alone is not eligible.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.