✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
2 November 2026 suggested complete-application deadline for the current OTA Match
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
31 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureBroad Level I trauma experience emphasizing pelvic and acetabular fractures, peri-articular fractures and polytrauma management, with research available through an established biomechanics laboratory
Funding · not publishedVCU publishes a 2026–2027 GME salary scale, but the trauma fellowship's PGY assignment and exact current salary are not stated on the programme page
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The current OTA list directs international and Canadian graduates to contact VCU. The host requires board eligibility and the ability to obtain a Virginia medical licence; OTA participation does not establish visa sponsorship.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Board eligibility in orthopaedic surgery · Ability to obtain a Virginia medical licence · Current OTA indicators direct Canadian and international medical graduates to contact the programme
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Applicants must be able to obtain a Virginia medical licence and satisfy VCU credentialing.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Neither the current host page nor OTA list publishes a programme-specific sponsorship route.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
VCU publishes a 2026–2027 GME salary scale, but the trauma fellowship's PGY assignment and exact current salary are not stated on the programme page
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 31 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-27. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline2 November 2026 suggested complete-application deadline for the current OTA Match
Commencing dateAugust 2028 for the current OTA Match pathway
Application route / cycleOTA 2027 Fellowship Match for training beginning August 2028: registration opened 3 August 2026, programmes notify interview intent by 1 December 2026, rank lists close 6 April 2027 and Match Day is 13 April 2027
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Board eligibility in orthopaedic surgery
Ability to obtain a Virginia medical licence
Current OTA indicators direct Canadian and international medical graduates to contact the programme
Registration, licence & examinations
Applicants must be able to obtain a Virginia medical licence and satisfy VCU credentialing.
Visa / work authorisation
Neither the current host page nor OTA list publishes a programme-specific sponsorship route.
Application documents
OTA/SF Match personal and additional information form
Curriculum vitae
Medical examination transcripts
Letter of good standing
Three letters of reference
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-position VCU trauma fellowship centred on pelvic-acetabular, peri-articular and polytrauma care at Richmond's Level I trauma centre. Current official sources publish the director, coordinator, licensing rule and Match route; exact salary and visa sponsorship remain unknown.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Level I trauma training, pelvic-acetabular and polytrauma exposure, biomechanics-laboratory research, and access to VCU resident-and-fellow salary and benefit resources
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About VCU School of Medicine / VCU Medical Center
VCU publishes active SF Match recruitment, one-year duration, director, coordinator, Level I trauma setting, clinical focus, biomechanics research and licensing requirement. OTA supplies the current Match dates and graduate indicators.
Fellowship Director and Associate ProfessorOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
VCU School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Orthopaedic trauma
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Paul Perdue Jr is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director and associate professor for VCU Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Orthopaedic trauma. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Paul Perdue Jr is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director and associate professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgery graduates seeking advanced trauma or fracture training; the OTA graduate-acceptance columns and host-specific criteria apply
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The current OTA list directs international and Canadian graduates to contact VCU. The host requires board eligibility and the ability to obtain a Virginia medical licence; OTA participation does not establish visa sponsorship.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.