✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
HKD 100 per day living allowance plus hospital accommodation or an equivalent accommodation allowance
Deadline
No fixed deadline; apply early because capacity may be limited
Duration
Up to 3 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · publishedUp to 3 months
Clinical exposureLaboratory-based hand, foot and ankle research with the Division of Hand & Foot
Funding · publishedHKD 100 per day living allowance plus hospital accommodation or an equivalent accommodation allowance
DestinationHong Kong
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Relevant laboratory-based research experience · Usually an MPhil, PhD or equivalent · Proposed timing subject to accommodation and fellow capacity
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
HKD 100 per day living allowance plus hospital accommodation or an equivalent accommodation allowance
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not applicable to this pathway— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not applicable to this pathway— accreditation / organisation source · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo fixed deadline; apply early because capacity may be limited
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApplications may be submitted at any time, subject to accommodation and fellow capacity; HKU warns that the waiting list can be long and advises applying early
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Relevant laboratory-based research experience
Usually an MPhil, PhD or equivalent
Proposed timing subject to accommodation and fellow capacity
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Curriculum vitae
Covering letter stating the requested timing
Reference letters are preferred
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A rolling, laboratory-based HKU hand and foot-and-ankle visiting-research placement lasting up to three months. HKU publishes the research-experience expectation, documents, HKD 100 daily allowance and accommodation support, while capacity and start timing remain subject to availability.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Laboratory-based research placement with the Division of Hand and Foot and hospital accommodation or an equivalent allowance
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Laboratory-based research placement with the Division of Hand and Foot and hospital accommodation or an equivalent allowance
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About The University of Hong Kong / Queen Mary Hospital
A detailed institutional profile has not yet been published by OrthoFellow for this listing. Use the official host or program link to review the hospital, university, training sites and facilities directly.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Visiting researchers with relevant laboratory experience, usually an MPhil, PhD or equivalent