Comprehensive · Source does not publish commencement date, official contact
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
AO Alliance describes its fellowships as funded. The 2027 Francophone call does not state an award amount or accommodation rate; fellows must arrange health and professional-liability insurance at their own expense.
Deadline
15 February 2027 at 23:59 for AO Alliance's 2027 national fellowship call, open only to applicants resident in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Gabon or Togo. This does not confirm a seat at this host or a regional-call deadline.
Duration
AO Alliance's Francophone application form offers 2 months for a national fellowship or 3 months for a regional fellowship; host allocation and exact dates are not published.
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Clinical exposureAO Alliance host-centre fellowship (Nationale / Régionale (pour chirurgiens et médecins généralistes)). Fellows gain additional experience in AO principles of operative and non-operative fracture treatment (indications, planning, techniques and pitfalls of osteosynthesis) under the named mentor; content depends largely on the fellow's initiative.
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Not open as a general international fellowship: French-speaking Africa national/regional fellowships are for eligible practitioners from listed francophone African countries.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied. Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Not published for this host on the AO Alliance centre, 2027 call or application form; confirm clinical permissions with the host and local regulator.
✓Published by official source
Language
AO Alliance strongly recommends the host country's working language or good French; no formal test threshold is published.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published for this host on the AO Alliance centre, 2027 call or application form; confirm immigration requirements before travel.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY79% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-13 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-11
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— official contact · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 February 2027 at 23:59 for AO Alliance's 2027 national fellowship call, open only to applicants resident in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Gabon or Togo. This does not confirm a seat at this host or a regional-call deadline.
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycle2027 Francophone national fellowship call: residents of Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Gabon and Togo apply using the AO Alliance form by 15 February 2027. Host selection and regional placement availability remain unconfirmed.
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
The 2027 national call is restricted to applicants resident in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Gabon or Togo.
National pathway: general practitioners treating musculoskeletal trauma, general surgeons seeking initial fracture-care training, or operating-room nurses.
Regional pathway (separate availability): general/orthopaedic-trauma surgery residents, general or orthopaedic surgeons, or operating-room nurses.
Application documents
Published by official source
Identity photograph and CV
Medical or nursing degree; specialist diploma where applicable
Certificate of attendance at an AO Alliance or AO Trauma event
Recommendation from the national AO Alliance or AO Trauma representative
Up-to-date vaccination record, as listed in the call instructions
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
Official AO Alliance fellowship host centre. Nationale / Régionale (pour chirurgiens et médecins généralistes).
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
The Francophone call permits up to 10 days of supervisor-approved absence. AO Alliance and the host do not provide illness, accident or professional-liability insurance; fellows must arrange their own coverage.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: AO Alliance describes its fellowships as funded. The 2027 Francophone call does not state an award amount or accommodation rate; fellows must arrange health and professional-liability insurance at their own expense.
HOST INSTITUTION
About CHU Sylvanus Olympio
CHU Sylvanus Olympio is listed on the official AO Alliance fellowship host-centre page (Nationale / Régionale (pour chirurgiens et médecins généralistes); mentor Abalo Anani).
B. P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences (BPKIHS), Department of Orthopaedics
Dharan, Nepal · 4 weeks up to 3 months for surgeons (4 weeks for operating room personnel)View program profile →
Your choice: optional Google Analytics
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy