HomeFoot & AnkleUnited Kingdom
Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Foot & Ankle

Fortius Clinical Sports Foot and Ankle Surgery Fellowship

Fortius Clinic

London · United Kingdom directory →

Faculty / program leadership: James Calder

Profile completeness74%
Well sourced · Missing application deadline, commencement date, entry requirements
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
The BOFAS-linked programme document publishes a funded six-month post and GBP 4,000 per month; confirm the current amount directly because no effective date is stated
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6–12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
30 Aug 2026
Duration · published6–12 months
Clinical exposureSports foot-and-ankle clinical and research training with four supervised operating sessions, two outpatient sessions, weekly NHS operating exposure, radiology and foot-and-ankle MDTs, protected research and forefoot/MIS exposure
Funding · publishedThe BOFAS-linked programme document publishes a funded six-month post and GBP 4,000 per month; confirm the current amount directly because no effective date is stated
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

Not published

Required training level

Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Not published

Medical registration

Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

No licensing-examination information is published.

Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

Not published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.

Published by official source

Funding availability

The BOFAS-linked programme document publishes a funded six-month post and GBP 4,000 per month; confirm the current amount directly because no effective date is stated

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

62% of core application fields verified

Checked 30 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-26. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtydurationfundingbenefitsapplication processapplication portalofficial contactfacultyverified faculty photographverified institution logoofficial sourceinstitutional sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification dateCurrent availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmedpositions · queued for source reviewcommencement / intake · queued for source reviewaccommodation / relocation · queued for source revieweligibility · queued for source reviewinternational eligibility · queued for source reviewLanguage requirement not published · queued for source reviewRegistration information not published · queued for source reviewvisa / work authorisation · queued for source reviewCurrent deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official sourcerequired documents · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleRCS directs fellowship applicants to NHS Jobs; contact the Fortius team and monitor NHS Jobs because no current vacancy, deadline or commencement date is linked
Official contactJames Calder / Fortius foot-and-ankle teamcalder@fortiusclinic.com

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Requirements to confirm before applying

Clinical / academic eligibility

Not published by the cited official source.

Registration, licence & examinations

AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A Fortius Clinic fellowship focused on decision-making and rehabilitation for professional and elite athletes. The RCS profile publishes detailed operative exposure and confirms that unsupervised surgery is not offered; supervised first-assistant operating is available for NHS patients at Hampshire Clinic.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

The six-month curriculum anticipates 250–300 procedures, predominantly as sole assistant, with supervised first-assistant operating for NHS patients at Hampshire Clinic. The RCS record explicitly states that unsupervised surgery is not offered.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

HOST INSTITUTION

About Fortius Clinic

Fortius Clinic in London, United Kingdom is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes elite-sport foot-and-ankle assessment, imaging and rehabilitation; arthroscopy, ligament reconstruction, Achilles repair, syndesmosis stabilisation, fusions, osteotomy, fracture fixation and forefoot surgery; research, clinical audit and monthly MDT leadership.

View OrthoFellow institution profile Visit host institution Claim or update this profile
FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

2 listed faculty members

JCJames Calder, fellowship faculty at Fortius Clinic

Program lead: James Calder

Chief fellowship supervisorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Fortius Clinic / Imperial College London
Clinical focus
Elite-sport foot and ankle injuries, arthroscopy, Achilles tendon and cartilage
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

James Calder is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief fellowship supervisor for Fortius Clinical Sports Foot and Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Elite-sport foot and ankle injuries, arthroscopy, Achilles tendon and cartilage. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

James Calder is listed by the official programme source as chief fellowship supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
ARInstitution associated with Andy Roche

Faculty: Andy Roche

Fellowship facultyOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Fortius Clinic
Clinical focus
Sports foot and ankle surgery, complex deformity and trauma
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Andy Roche is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for Fortius Clinical Sports Foot and Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports foot and ankle surgery, complex deformity and trauma. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Andy Roche is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

BOFAS directory identity, duration and trainers checked 2026-08-30; linked detail facts checked 2026-08-30.