✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
22 January 2026 — closed historical call
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
30 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureAdvanced paediatric orthopaedic training; the current EPOS host page marks the job description and working requirements as to be confirmed
Funding · not publishedFEPOS describes its centre fellowships as paid; the Southampton amount was not published
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed orthopaedic surgery training in the country of origin · Formal paediatric-surgery training may be accepted in selected cases with documented adequate paediatric-orthopaedic training
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
FEPOS describes its centre fellowships as paid; the Southampton amount was not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
48% of core application fields verified
Checked 30 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-26. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · historical evidence only— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · official sources conflict— Language requirement not published · official sources conflict— Registration information not published · official sources conflict— visa / work authorisation · official sources conflict— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · historical evidence only— official contact · historical evidence only— Faculty information requires reverification · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline22 January 2026 — closed historical call
Commencing date2026 call listed the start as TBC; no later start is published
Application route / cycleThe published Southampton 2026 call closed on 22 January 2026; the current FEPOS locations page does not label Southampton as applications open
Official contactJim Kennedy — contact named in the closed 2026 call; reconfirm with EPOS before relying on itdrjimkennedyortho@icloud.com
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed orthopaedic surgery training in the country of origin
Formal paediatric-surgery training may be accepted in selected cases with documented adequate paediatric-orthopaedic training
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Full curriculum vitae including a colour passport photograph and paediatric-orthopaedic experience
Personal statement of no more than 250 words
Two support letters: one from the local training-program director and one from a recent clinical supervisor
Optional letter confirming a returning-centre job offer
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A historical twelve-month Southampton Senior Fellow call under FEPOS supervision, closed on 22 January 2026. EPOS publishes the host, duration, standard application package and orthopaedic-training eligibility, but the PDF's working-requirements section inconsistently cites Irish registration and work-permit rules for this United Kingdom host; language, registration and visa terms therefore require fresh confirmation.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
A paid twelve-month senior fellowship in paediatric orthopaedics under FEPOS supervision
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University Hospital Southampton / Southampton Children’s Hospital
University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust and Southampton Children’s Hospital are the named Southampton FEPOS hosts.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The official 2026 Southampton PDF named a Senior Fellow post, a 22 January 2026 deadline and TBC start. Its working-requirements section refers to Irish registration and work-permit rules despite naming a United Kingdom host, so those terms are preserved as an official-source conflict rather than applied to applicants.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Surgeons who have completed orthopaedic training; selected paediatric surgeons with documented paediatric orthopaedic training may be considered