Names in the programme record: Byron Stephens, MD and Amir Abtahi, MD, Co-Directors
Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish entry requirements
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
PGY-6 stipend level; the current programme page does not publish the dollar amount
Deadline
1 December (annual; year not stated)
Duration
1 year (August 1–July 31)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureHigh-volume cervical, thoracic and lumbar training from skull to sacrum across degenerative, deformity, revision, oncologic, infectious and traumatic disease, with three to four OR days weekly, clinic, call, conferences, teaching and publication-focused research
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
—Not published
International applicants
Vanderbilt does not publish programme-specific international-graduate or visa-sponsorship terms on the current spine page. Written appointment and Tennessee licensing confirmation is required.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Programme-specific state medical-licensing and hospital-credentialing requirements are not published
—Not published
Language
No separate programme-specific language-test threshold is published
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation terms are not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY76% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-09 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline1 December (annual; year not stated)
Commencing dateAugust 2028 (NASS/SF Match 2027 Spine Match)
Application route / cycle2027 Spine Surgery Fellowship Match via SF Match (NASS 2026–2027 directory and timetable, August 2028 start): applicant registration opened 3 August 2026 and stays open until the match deadline; the 2 September 2026 CAS target date is not a deadline (programmes may set their own); interview period 30 November 2026 – 19 March 2027; rank lists due 6 April 2027 (12:00 noon PT); Match Day 13 April 2027.
Programme-specific residency, Tennessee licensing and appointment prerequisites are not published on the reviewed page
Application documents
Not published
NASS common application through SF Match
Programme-specific supporting-document checklist is not reproduced on the host page
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A two-position Vanderbilt spine fellowship with high-volume comprehensive surgery, research, teaching, PGY-6 compensation and three weeks of vacation. Applications use SF Match and a recurring December 1 deadline, but the current cycle's open status is not stated.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Three weeks of vacation, licensing and travel administrative support, office and computer workspace, research support and 24/7 cadaver-lab access
HOST INSTITUTION
About Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Vanderbilt publishes two August-to-July fellows, PGY-6 compensation, three weeks of vacation, extensive clinical and research detail, current division leaders and an annual SF Match route.
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Carl J. Shapiro Department of Orthopaedics), Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts, United States · Not explicitly stated; the programme page refers to research to be completed 'during the year', and NASS likewise says the fellow must complete one project 'during the year'.View program profile →
Musculoskeletal Oncology FellowshipMusculoskeletal Oncology · Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery) · Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy