✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Paid appointment with BMC benefits. BMC publishes a July 2025 PGY-6 rate of USD 99,294.52 and PGY-7 rate of USD 103,762.79; the fellowship page does not specify which level applies
Deadline
The last dated page lists 31 October 2024; confirm the next active SF Match cycle
Duration
12 months, 1 August–31 July
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months, 1 August–31 July
Clinical exposureAdvanced sports and shoulder surgery, ACL/PCL and multiligament reconstruction, primary and revision shoulder arthroplasty, instability, muscle transfer, cartilage procedures, hip arthroscopy, elbow surgery, team coverage and protected research time
Funding · publishedPaid appointment with BMC benefits. BMC publishes a July 2025 PGY-6 rate of USD 99,294.52 and PGY-7 rate of USD 103,762.79; the fellowship page does not specify which level applies
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Complete an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency · Be eligible for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery examination
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
The clinical appointment requires Massachusetts medical licensure and BMC credentialing. Institutional onboarding materials require applicable USMLE/COMLEX and ECFMG documentation; the programme does not publish a separate score threshold.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
International graduates must satisfy BMC employment, ECFMG, immigration and Massachusetts licensure requirements. The fellowship page does not promise a specific visa category.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Paid appointment with BMC benefits. BMC publishes a July 2025 PGY-6 rate of USD 99,294.52 and PGY-7 rate of USD 103,762.79; the fellowship page does not specify which level applies
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
90% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe last dated page lists 31 October 2024; confirm the next active SF Match cycle
Commencing date1 August
Application route / cycleSF Match Common Application only
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Complete an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency
Be eligible for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery examination
Registration, licence & examinations
The clinical appointment requires Massachusetts medical licensure and BMC credentialing. Institutional onboarding materials require applicable USMLE/COMLEX and ECFMG documentation; the programme does not publish a separate score threshold.
Visa / work authorisation
International graduates must satisfy BMC employment, ECFMG, immigration and Massachusetts licensure requirements. The fellowship page does not promise a specific visa category.
Application documents
SF Match Common Application
Supporting documents required by the active SF Match cycle
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year, one-position ACGME sports-medicine fellowship with broad knee, shoulder, hip and elbow surgery, team coverage and a protected half-day of research each week. Current deadline and appointed pay grade should be reconfirmed because the official applicant page retains an older recruitment calendar.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
BMC publishes medical and disability benefits, four weeks of vacation, four personal days, 15 sick days, MBTA/parking support, Safe Ride and a lease-guaranty programme. Current eligibility and amounts remain subject to the appointment agreement.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Boston Medical Center / Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine
Boston Medical Center and Boston University deliver the programme with additional hip and elbow rotations through New England Baptist Hospital and Lahey faculty.
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery; Boston University team physician
Affiliation
Boston Medical Center / Boston University
Clinical focus
Sports medicine, complex shoulder surgery and reconstruction
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Xinning Li is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports medicine, complex shoulder surgery and reconstruction. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Boston Medical Center describes Dr Li as a board-certified orthopaedic surgeon, professor and team physician with fellowship training at Hospital for Special Surgery and Harvard Shoulder & Elbow and more than 100 publications.
Robert J. Nicoletta is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Orthopaedic sports medicine. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Robert J. Nicoletta is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Michael S. Kain is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Orthopaedic trauma and sports-related surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael S. Kain is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Boston Medical Center / Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Thomas Wuerz is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Thomas Wuerz is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Boston Medical Center / Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Mark Lemos is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mark Lemos is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Boston Medical Center / Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Eric Tolo is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Boston University Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Eric Tolo is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The official programme page states that the fellowship began in 1998 under Robert E. Leach and received full ACGME accreditation in January 2002.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Graduates of ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency programmes who are eligible for the ABOS examination