✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Salary and benefits are not published on the official programme page reviewed
Deadline
15 November 2025 — historical deadline for the 2027–2028 fellowship cycle
Duration
One academic year; the official page references the 2027–2028 fellowship cycle
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
17 Aug 2026
Duration · publishedOne academic year; the official page references the 2027–2028 fellowship cycle
Clinical exposureComprehensive shoulder-to-fingertip training including arthroscopy, peripheral nerve surgery, microsurgery, acute trauma and complex late reconstruction, with academic and research responsibilities
Funding · publishedSalary and benefits are not published on the official programme page reviewed
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The official programme page does not publish an international-graduate, licensing or visa-sponsorship pathway; applicants trained abroad should confirm eligibility before entering the ASSH and NRMP process.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completion of an eligible orthopaedic or plastic-surgery residency · General-surgery-only residency graduates are not accepted · Meet Massachusetts General Hospital appointment, licensing and credentialing requirements
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Salary and benefits are not published on the official programme page reviewed
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 17 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-13. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ eligibility✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 November 2025 — historical deadline for the 2027–2028 fellowship cycle
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleASSH Online Hand Fellowship Application and NRMP; the displayed 2027–2028 application and interview cycle is closed
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completion of an eligible orthopaedic or plastic-surgery residency
General-surgery-only residency graduates are not accepted
Meet Massachusetts General Hospital appointment, licensing and credentialing requirements
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
ASSH Online Hand Fellowship Application
Three letters of recommendation, including one from the applicant’s current Chief of Service
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A Harvard-affiliated hand and upper-extremity fellowship with broad clinical responsibility from shoulder to fingertip, including microsurgery, peripheral-nerve care, arthroscopy and complex reconstruction. The last published cycle is closed; future applicants should use the official page for the next ASSH and NRMP dates.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
A detailed institutional profile has not yet been published by OrthoFellow for this listing. Use the official host or program link to review the hospital, university, training sites and facilities directly.
Fellowship Program DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand and upper-extremity surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Rohit Garg is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship program director for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand and upper-extremity surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mass General identifies Rohit Garg as director of the Hand Surgery Fellowship and a hand and arm orthopaedic surgeon at Harvard Medical School.
Hand fellowship facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Abhiram Bhashyam is listed in the cited programme evidence as hand fellowship faculty for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Abhiram Bhashyam is listed by the official programme source as hand fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hand fellowship facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Neal C. Chen is listed in the cited programme evidence as hand fellowship faculty for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Neal C. Chen is listed by the official programme source as hand fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Associate Fellowship Program DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Associate Professor of Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kyle Eberlin is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate fellowship program director for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kyle Eberlin is listed by the official programme source as associate fellowship program director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hand fellowship facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Instructor in Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Sang-Gil Lee is listed in the cited programme evidence as hand fellowship faculty for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Sang-Gil Lee is listed by the official programme source as hand fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hand fellowship facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Chaitanya Mudgal is listed in the cited programme evidence as hand fellowship faculty for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Chaitanya Mudgal is listed by the official programme source as hand fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hand fellowship facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jonathan Winograd is listed in the cited programme evidence as hand fellowship faculty for Mass General Hand & Upper Extremity Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jonathan Winograd is listed by the official programme source as hand fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
Orthopaedic or plastic-surgery residency graduates; general-surgery-only residency graduates are not accepted
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The official programme page does not publish an international-graduate, licensing or visa-sponsorship pathway; applicants trained abroad should confirm eligibility before entering the ASSH and NRMP process.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.