Comprehensive · Missing funding, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
1 May
Duration
13 months, July–August; the same official page also calls it a one-year programme, so applicants should confirm the contract dates
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published13 months, July–August; the same official page also calls it a one-year programme, so applicants should confirm the contract dates
Clinical exposurePodiatric foot-and-ankle trauma, sports injuries, deformity correction, ankle arthroscopy, minimally invasive surgery, fellow-run clinic, trauma call, imaging, research and practice management across OCF clinics and partner hospitals
Funding · not publishedNot published by the official program page; a conference and course budget is mentioned without an amount
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Meet the podiatric surgical training and credentialing requirements stated in the ACFAS application pathway
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published by the official program page; a conference and course budget is mentioned without an amount
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
72% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline1 May
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect email application using the ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application and programme addendum
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Meet the podiatric surgical training and credentialing requirements stated in the ACFAS application pathway
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
ACFAS Standard Fellowship Application
Programme addendum
Curriculum vitae or résumé with a professional photograph
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-position podiatric foot-and-ankle surgical fellowship with a published 1 May deadline, named director, direct email, research outputs and broad surgical exposure. The official page does not publish salary or a current commencement year.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Conference/course support, monthly journal club and research expectations including an ACFAS abstract, FPMA presentation and journal submission.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Orthopedic Center of Florida
The fellowship rotates through Orthopedic Center of Florida clinics and partner surgical and hospital settings in southwest Florida.
Foot surgery and reconstructive rearfoot and ankle surgery
Qualifications
DPM, FACFAS, FASPS
Andrew M. Belis is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot surgery and reconstructive rearfoot and ankle surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
The official page identifies Dr Belis as ABFAS board certified in foot surgery and reconstructive rearfoot/ankle surgery and a past president of the Florida Podiatric Medical Association.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthopedic Center of Florida
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Michael Black is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael Black is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
PN
Faculty: Patricia Nicholas
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthopedic Center of Florida
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Patricia Nicholas is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Patricia Nicholas is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JK
Faculty: Jeff Kleiman
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthopedic Center of Florida
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jeff Kleiman is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jeff Kleiman is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
BB
Faculty: Brent Bernstein
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Orthopedic Center of Florida
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Brent Bernstein is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Brent Bernstein is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Jason Nemitz is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Foot & Ankle Surgical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jason Nemitz is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
DPM/podiatric surgical applicants; this is not an orthopaedic-surgery fellowship