✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
USD 70,000 annual salary published on the official programme page
Deadline
15 November 2024 — displayed cycle closed
Duration
1 year with eight mentorship months and four elective months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
30 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 year with eight mentorship months and four elective months
Clinical exposureMore than 50,000 annual visits and approximately 8,000 operations across upper-extremity arthroscopy and arthroplasty, Level I trauma, replantation, free-tissue and nerve transfer, congenital and brachial-plexus clinics, spasticity, limb-loss reconstruction and elite-athlete care, with dedicated research time.
Funding · publishedUSD 70,000 annual salary published on the official programme page
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Eligibility requires completion of orthopaedic, plastic or general-surgery residency in a United States-accredited programme; an Indonesian-only qualifying residency route is not published.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completion of orthopaedic, plastic or general-surgery residency in a United States-accredited programme · USMLE or COMLEX Steps 1–3 passed within three attempts
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
USD 70,000 annual salary published on the official programme page
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
72% of core application fields verified
Checked 30 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-26. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— commencement / intake · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 November 2024 — displayed cycle closed
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleASSH application and NRMP participation; the official page still displays the completed November 2024 deadline and January–February 2025 interviews.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completion of orthopaedic, plastic or general-surgery residency in a United States-accredited programme
USMLE or COMLEX Steps 1–3 passed within three attempts
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
ASSH online application
Brief personal statement
Curriculum vitae
USMLE or COMLEX transcript
Three recommendation letters, including one from the chair or programme director
Medical-school transcript
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
OrthoCarolina publishes a detailed high-volume one-year curriculum, salary and benefits, eleven named team physicians, documents and United States residency eligibility. The page's 2024 deadline and 2025 interviews are historical, so current availability remains unconfirmed.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Health and dental insurance for fellows and dependants, disability and life insurance, retirement and flexible-spending plans, up to three weeks of paid time off, liability and tail coverage, two paid courses and a fully funded one-week travelling fellowship.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
A high-volume Charlotte programme with eleven named team physicians, structured mentorship and electives, daily didactics, extensive research support and a paid travelling fellowship.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Michael Aversano is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael Aversano is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
CC
Faculty: Chris Chadderdon
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Chris Chadderdon is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Chris Chadderdon is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
EG
Faculty: Erika Gantt
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Erika Gantt is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Erika Gantt is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
RG
Faculty: Ryan Garcia
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ryan Garcia is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ryan Garcia is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
MG
Faculty: Michael Gart
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Michael Gart is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael Gart is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hand, wrist and elbow reconstruction, peripheral nerve surgery, tendon transfers and limb-loss reconstruction
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Glenn Gaston is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand, wrist and elbow reconstruction, peripheral nerve surgery, tendon transfers and limb-loss reconstruction. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
OrthoCarolina identifies Glenn Gaston as director of its Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship and a surgeon-researcher focused on complex upper-extremity reconstruction.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jordan Grier is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jordan Grier is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DL
Faculty: Dan Lewis
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Dan Lewis is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Dan Lewis is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
BL
Faculty: Bryan Loeffler
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Bryan Loeffler is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Bryan Loeffler is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
PM
Faculty: Peter M. Waters
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Peter M. Waters is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Peter M. Waters is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JW
Faculty: Julie Woodside
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Hand Center / Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Julie Woodside is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for OrthoCarolina Hand & Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Julie Woodside is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
Orthopaedic, plastic or general-surgery graduates entering the NRMP Hand Surgery Match and meeting appointment requirements
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Eligibility requires completion of orthopaedic, plastic or general-surgery residency in a United States-accredited programme; an Indonesian-only qualifying residency route is not published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.