✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Musculoskeletal Oncology →

University of Cape Town Orthopaedic Oncology Fellowship

University of Cape Town Orthopaedic Department

⌖ Cape Town · South Africa directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Thomas Hilton

Profile completeness73%
Well sourced · Missing faculty profile, host profile
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Partial funding available; amount and terms not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
Not published
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
23 Sep 2026
Duration · not publishedNot published on the department fellowship page
Clinical exposureOrthopaedic Oncology training; rotations, case numbers and operative privileges are not published.
Funding · publishedPartial funding available; amount and terms not published
DestinationSouth Africa
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

International eligibility, registration and visa requirements are not published on the department fellowship page. Confirm directly with UCT.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Admission requirements are not published on the programme page; confirm with UCT.

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

—Not published

Medical registration

Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

No licensing-examination information is published.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

—Not published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Partial funding available; amount and terms not published

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

62% of core application fields verified

Checked 23 Sep 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-22. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · not published by the cited official source— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleContact the department secretary for availability and application requirements. All fellows are expected to enrol in a one-year UCT MSc programme.
Official contactUCT Orthopaedic Department secretarymarilyn.vanderberg@uct.ac.za

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Admission requirements are not published on the programme page; confirm with UCT.
Registration, licence & examinations

AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

UCT lists this orthopaedic oncology fellowship with an expected one-year MSc component. Confirm intake availability, admission and funding terms directly.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

THInstitution associated with Thomas Hilton

Program lead: Thomas Hilton

Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
University of Cape Town Orthopaedic Department
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Thomas Hilton is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for University of Cape Town Orthopaedic Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Thomas Hilton is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

International eligibility, registration and visa requirements are not published on the department fellowship page. Confirm directly with UCT.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.