HIP & KNEE · DESTINATION

Hip and Knee Fellowships in United Kingdom

Showing only Hip & Knee programmes in United Kingdom. Other subspecialties remain available through the country filters below.

55Total programs
1Selected subspecialty
54Clinical & visiting
1Research
2Network host institutions
COUNTRY × SUBSPECIALTY SNAPSHOT

How the Hip and Knee inventory in United Kingdom is structured

This page contains 55 canonical pathways across 40 locations. Counts come from the current OrthoFellow database; missing funding or application information is never treated as a negative finding.

51clinical fellowships
1research fellowships
3observerships
0short courses
5current application signals
46funding details published

Locations represented: Ashington, England, United Kingdom, Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom, Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom, Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom, Birmingham, England, United Kingdom, Canterbury, England, United Kingdom, Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom, Colchester, England, United Kingdom, Coventry, England, United Kingdom, Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom, Exeter, England, United Kingdom, Frimley, England, United Kingdom, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom, Grantham, England, United Kingdom, Host institution chosen by applicant, United Kingdom, Ipswich, England, United Kingdom, Leeds, England, United Kingdom, Leicester, England, United Kingdom, Liverpool, England, United Kingdom, London, England, United Kingdom, Maidstone, England, United Kingdom, Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom, Multiple European host centres, Norwich, England, United Kingdom, Nottingham, England, United Kingdom, Oswestry, England, United Kingdom, Oxford, England, United Kingdom, Plymouth, England, United Kingdom, Poole, England, United Kingdom, Sheffield, England, United Kingdom, St Albans, England, United Kingdom, Stanmore, England, United Kingdom, Stevenage, England, United Kingdom, Surrey, England, United Kingdom, United Kingdom, United Kingdom · host institution selected by applicant, Wigan, England, United Kingdom, Wirral, England, United Kingdom, Worthing, England, United Kingdom, York, England, United Kingdom. Open each programme profile to confirm eligibility, registration, hands-on scope and the current application cycle with its official source.

VERIFIED NETWORK HOSTS

Institutions you can explore

Hospital and clinic profiles connected to an official fellowship or education-centre pathway. A recognised host does not automatically mean that a position is open.

Hip & Knee · Official network

Golden Jubilee University National Hospital

⌖ Glasgow · Host: Nick Ohly

View within pathway →
Hip & Knee · Official network

Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital / UCL

⌖ London · Host: Fares Haddad

View within pathway →
SUBSPECIALTY

Hip & Knee

24 highlighted of 55
✓ Verified 14 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipActive applicationHip & Knee →

ROH Senior Clinical Fellow – Bone Infection Service (Joint Reconstruction)

Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Birmingham, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

JSJonathan Stevenson, fellowship faculty at Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation TrustJonathan StevensonLJLee Jeys, fellowship faculty at Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation TrustLee Jeys+1 more

Duration12 months (fixed term)
Funding£67,325 to £76,582 a year per annum, 9-month fixed term (NHS Jobs advert C9303-26-0150, posted 6…
ExposureSenior fellowship in joint reconstruction for surgeons with elective arthroplasty experience, developing skills in managing…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Research FellowshipUpcoming cycleResearch Fellowship →

Joint NJR–RCS England Research Fellowship

National Joint Registry / Royal College of Surgeons of England

⌖ United Kingdom · host institution selected by applicant

DurationUp to 2 years; the second year is subject to satisfactory…
FundingUp to GBP 100,000 per year for a maximum of 2 years; the fellow remains employed by the host…
Research focusIndependent research using National Joint Registry data on joint replacement, based at a recognised orthopaedic host centre with…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Edinburgh Orthopaedics Lower Limb Arthroplasty Fellowship

NHS Lothian - Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

⌖ Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom

Program lead

GMGavin Macpherson, fellowship faculty at NHS Lothian - Royal Infirmary of EdinburghGavin Macpherson

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingThe NHS Lothian FOI reply states basic pay of GBP 62,758 for a grade 5 clinical fellow and GBP…
ExposureOne-to-one work with a clinical supervisor on complex primary and revision hip and knee surgery within a 12-surgeon arthroplasty…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipUpcoming cycleHip & Knee →

Frimley Park Hip Fellowship

Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Frimley, England, United Kingdom

Duration12 months
FundingSpecialty Doctor grade, fixed term 12 months: £61,542 to £99,216 a year per annum, as advertised…
ExposureYoung-adult hip surgery including open and arthroscopic impingement surgery; complex primary and revision arthroplasty;…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

QEUH Glasgow Hip Fellowship (Arthroplasty and Hip Preservation)

Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

⌖ Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

DMDominic Meek, fellowship faculty at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and ClydeDominic MeekMJMark Jenkinson, fellowship faculty at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and ClydeMark Jenkinson

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingClinical Fellow, fixed term up to 12 months, 48 hours per week: £45,504 - £71,550, rota banded…
ExposureFull range of hip surgery: high-volume primary, complex primary and revision hip arthroplasty, metastatic tumour hip surgery, PJI…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

UHCW Lower Limb Reconstruction (Revision Arthroplasty) Fellowship

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust

⌖ Coventry, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

PFPedro Foguet, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS TrustPedro FoguetRKRichard King, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS TrustRichard King+2 more

Duration12 months (BHS); six or twelve months (BASK register)
FundingBHS: MT05 (ST6-8 equivalent); BASK register: £62,000 per annum
ExposureHigh-volume complex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty with three revision consultants and an active role in the Bone…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Worthing and Chichester Post-CCT Arthroplasty Fellowship

University Hospitals Sussex NHS FT (Worthing and Chichester hospitals)

⌖ Worthing, England, United Kingdom

Program lead

NSNirav Shah, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Sussex NHS FT (Worthing and Chichester hospitals)Nirav Shah

Duration12 months
FundingST8 / top-of-registrar salary plus on-call
ExposureUncemented and cemented primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic fracture fixation/revision, arthroplasty…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Barts Lower Limb Fellowship

Royal London Hospital / Barts Health Orthopaedic Centre / Whipps Cross Hospital

⌖ London, England, United Kingdom

Duration12 months
FundingNHS post-CCT fellow salary with London weighting; additional paid lists if desired
ExposureHip and knee arthroscopy, primary and revision arthroplasty and reconstruction
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

UCLH Hip and Knee Reconstruction Fellowship

University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace Hospital

⌖ London, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

FHFares Haddad, fellowship faculty at University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace HospitalFares HaddadRPRicci Plastow, fellowship faculty at University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace HospitalRicci Plastow

Duration12 months
FundingBHS: MT05 (ST3-8) equivalent; BASK register: remuneration 60,000
ExposureHip and knee reconstruction and sports injuries with Fares Haddad: three all-day double lists per week (6 elective lists), one…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Endeavour Fellowship (Lower Limb Arthroplasty)

James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FT

⌖ Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

SJSimon Jameson, fellowship faculty at James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FTSimon JamesonPBPaul Baker, fellowship faculty at James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FTPaul Baker+1 more

Duration12 months
FundingSalary field left blank on BHS listing
ExposureComplex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty at a nationally appointed Major Revision Centre, with exposure to young adult…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

ESOC Knee Fellowship (ESNEFT)

East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)

⌖ Colchester, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

MBMark Bowditch, fellowship faculty at East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)Mark BowditchRWRyan Wood, fellowship faculty at East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)Ryan Wood

DurationTwelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, arthroplasty and revision arthroplasty, in a Major Revision Centre-hosted fellowship led…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Leicester Revision Knee / Soft Tissue Knee Fellowship

University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

⌖ Leicester, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

UCUrjit Chatterji, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS TrustUrjit ChatterjiCEColin Esler, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS TrustColin Esler+6 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue; arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty. Setting: Major Revision Centre (MRC) hosted…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

St George's CCT Clinical Fellowship in Arthroplasty

St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic Centre

⌖ London, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

PMPhilip Mitchell, fellowship faculty at St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic CentrePhilip MitchellSASulaiman Alazzawi, fellowship faculty at St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic CentreSulaiman Alazzawi+1 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty. Setting: NHS.
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Cavendish Fellowship (Complex Primary and Revision Lower Limb Arthroplasty)

Lower Limb Arthroplasty Unit, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS FT

⌖ Sheffield, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

AHAndy Hamer, fellowship faculty at Lower Limb Arthroplasty Unit, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS FTAndy HamerBKBob Kerry+4 more

Duration12 months
FundingBHS: MT05 £76,582; BASK register: £55,329 to £63,152 a year
ExposureComplex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty including one- and two-stage revision for infection, aseptic revision,…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Imperial Hip Fellowship (Primary and Revision Hip)

Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)

⌖ London, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

ALAngus Lewis, fellowship faculty at Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)Angus LewisJDJas Daurka, fellowship faculty at Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)Jas Daurka+2 more

Duration12 months
FundingListed as 'MH25(92)' (as published by BHS; grade not otherwise explained)
ExposureThree elective lists per week of primary and revision hip surgery, one weekly complex/regional-referral hip clinic, variable trauma…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

ROH Senior Fellowship in Young Adult Hip Surgery

Young Adult Hip Unit, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Birmingham, England, United Kingdom

Program lead

CMCallum McBryde, fellowship faculty at Young Adult Hip Unit, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation TrustCallum McBryde

Duration6 or 12 months
Funding£65,048 to £73,992 depending on experience
ExposureHip preservation through to complex primary THR: hip arthroscopy, pelvic and femoral reorientation osteotomy, resurfacing,…
✓ Verified 14 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Northumbria Hip Preservation Fellowship

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust (Wansbeck General Hospital)

⌖ Ashington, England, United Kingdom

Program lead

AMAjay Malviya, fellowship faculty at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust (Wansbeck General Hospital)Ajay Malviya

Duration12 months
FundingST8: £80,730
ExposureOne-to-one supervision by Ajay Malviya in a unit performing over 250 hip preservation procedures a year (75–80 PAOs, about 150 hip…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Leeds Hip and Knee Unit Arthroplasty Fellowship

Leeds Hip and Knee Unit, Chapel Allerton Hospital, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

⌖ Leeds, England, United Kingdom

Duration12 months (BHS); six or twelve months (BASK register)
FundingNot published
ExposureWeekly elective clinic and two weekly elective lists (primary/complex primary and predominantly revision hip and knee arthroplasty)…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

GKT Revision Arthroplasty Fellowship

Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust (listed as 'GKT')

⌖ London, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

DBDiane BackACAlex Charalambous

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingSenior Registrar
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty; trauma. Setting: Major Revision Centre (MRC) hosted fellowship.
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmedHip & Knee →

Lister Post-CCT Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery

Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS Trust

⌖ Stevenage, England, United Kingdom

Faculty & leadership

RTRaj Thakrar, fellowship faculty at Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS TrustRaj ThakrarMCMinhal Chatoo, fellowship faculty at Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS TrustMinhal Chatoo

DurationTwelve months
FundingSenior Registrar (BASK register)
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, trauma, arthroplasty, revision arthroplasty and joint preservation, in an NHS setting.…
COMPLETE CRAWLABLE INDEX

All remaining programmes

The first 24 profiles include full comparison details. These 31 additional source-linked profiles use a compact layout so this destination stays fast without hiding any programme from applicants or search engines.

Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

Norwich Knee Fellowship

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust · Norwich, England, United Kingdom

Current availability unconfirmed
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

Oswestry Knee Fellowship

Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust · Oswestry, England, United Kingdom

Current availability unconfirmed
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

TORC Belfast Arthroplasty Fellowship

Musgrave Park Hospital, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust · Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Current availability unconfirmed
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

Liverpool Knee Fellowship

Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust · Liverpool, England, United Kingdom

Current availability unconfirmed
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

Oxford Hip and Knee Fellowships

Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford University Hospitals · Oxford, England, United Kingdom

Closed for this cycle
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

Royal Devon Exeter Hip and Knee Fellowship

Princess Elizabeth Orthopaedic Centre, Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust · Exeter, England, United Kingdom

Closed for this cycle
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

BHS/ORUK Research Fellowship

Orthopaedic Research UK / British Hip Society · Host institution chosen by applicant, United Kingdom

Closed for this cycle
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

BASK/ORUK Research Fellowship

Orthopaedic Research UK / British Association for Surgery of the Knee · Host institution chosen by applicant, United Kingdom

Closed for this cycle
Hip & Knee · Clinical Fellowship

UCLH Knee Surgery Fellowship

University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust · London, England, United Kingdom

Closed for this cycle
FELLOWSHIP FACULTY

Hip and Knee fellowship faculty in United Kingdom

100 people are named on source-backed United Kingdom programme pages. Each profile links to the official source and to the programmes the person is connected to.

Browse all 100 faculty profiles for United Kingdom and other destinations →

BEFORE YOU APPLY

Hip and Knee fellowships in United Kingdom: FAQs

Where can I do a hip and knee fellowship in United Kingdom?

OrthoFellow lists 55 hip and knee pathways in United Kingdom, including Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, British Hip Society, National Joint Registry / Royal College of Surgeons of England, NHS Lothian - Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and 45 more. Each profile links to the official programme page.

Which United Kingdom hip and knee fellowships are open now?

5 of 55 show an active, upcoming or rolling application signal. A listing is not a confirmed vacancy, so check the official page for the current cycle before applying.

How do I apply for a hip and knee fellowship in United Kingdom?

Elsewhere, arthroplasty and lower limb fellowships are offered by hospitals and recognised through bodies such as the British Hip Society and BASK (UK), the AOA (Australia) and AO Recon, including posts open to international surgeons. Eligibility, registration and visa terms are programme-specific.

Your choice: optional Google Analytics

Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional analytics

With your permission, Google Analytics helps us understand which types of pages are useful. We send page categories, not your search text, application notes or contact details. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow.

Current choice: Not chosen — analytics is off. Choices are remembered on this device for up to 180 days.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy