HomeTrauma, Pelvis & AcetabulumWorldwide (multi-country)
Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipUpcoming cycle
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum

AO Trauma Fellowship Network

AO Trauma Fellowship Host Centers

Multiple recognised host centres worldwide · 25 available centres →

Faculty / program leadership: Host faculty at the selected AO centre

Profile completeness66%
Well sourced · Missing application deadline, commencement date, official contact
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded, and host fees vary by centre
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6–12 weeks
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published6–12 weeks
Clinical exposureOrthopaedic trauma training at a selected AO host centre; the permitted role ranges from observation to supervised scrub-in according to the centre and local rules
Funding · publishedAO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded, and host fees vary by centre
Destination14 countries · choose one centre
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

Published by official source

Required training level

Active AO Trauma membership · Previous AO Trauma Basic Principles and Advanced Principles course participation · Orthopaedic trauma is the main part of current practice · Younger than 45 years in the application year; teaching-hospital employment is recommended

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Partially published

Medical registration

Clinical participation is determined by the host centre and local law. AO host-centre status does not itself grant a local medical licence.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

The fellow must obtain the immigration permission required by the host country and confirm the supporting documents with AO and the selected centre.

Published by official source

Funding availability

AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded, and host fees vary by centre

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

72% of core application fields verified

Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtycurrent status evidencedurationpositionsfundingaccommodation / relocationeligibilityregistrationvisa / work authorisationapplication processrequired documentsapplication portalfacultyverified institution logoofficial sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification datecommencement / intake · queued for source reviewbenefits · queued for source reviewinternational eligibility · queued for source reviewLanguage requirement not published · queued for source reviewCurrent deadline not yet published · queued for source reviewofficial contact · queued for source reviewVerified faculty photograph not available · queued for source reviewinstitutional source · queued for source review
AVAILABLE LOCATIONS

Choose an AO fellowship host centre

This is one application pathway, not 25 repeated fellowship cards. Select a hospital or university centre below; timing, clinical participation, fees and acceptance depend on the host.

25 host centres14 countries1 application pathway

Belgium

1 centre

UZ Leuven Traumatology

Leuven · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in opportunity stated

Funding / fees: EUR 100 administration fee stated

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyWillem-Jan Metsemakers
Apply

China

3 centres

Shanghai Sixth People's Hospital / Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine

Shanghai · 6–12 weeks

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks

Exposure: High-volume orthopaedic trauma, polytrauma, teaching rounds, surgical observation and AO principles; the host states that fellows may scrub in with hospital permission

Funding / fees: 2026 AO Trauma contribution: CHF 250 per week for China; travel and insurance remain self-funded. Host fee: RMB 1,000 per week or RMB 3,540 for three months

Language: Operating-room language: Chinese. The host rates team English 4/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: The host permits scrub-in after obtaining hospital fellowship permission.

Host profile: Shanghai Sixth People's Hospital is an affiliated hospital of Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine; its AO host profile reports more than 1,000 orthopaedic trauma cases and more than 150 major polytrauma cases annually.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyCongfeng Luo
Apply

Beijing Jishuitan Hospital / Capital Medical University

Beijing · 6–12 weeks

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks

Exposure: General and complex orthopaedic trauma in a host service reporting more than 1,000 trauma cases and more than 150 major polytrauma cases annually; scrub-in is available with a medical doctor licence

Funding / fees: 2026 AO Trauma contribution: CHF 250 per week for China; travel and insurance remain self-funded

Language: Operating-room language: Chinese. The host rates team English 5/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: The host requires a medical doctor licence for scrub-in; applicants must confirm whether a home-country licence is sufficient for the intended role.

Host profile: Beijing Jishuitan Hospital is a Capital Medical University teaching hospital. AO lists a 200-bed orthopaedic trauma department with high-volume trauma and polytrauma exposure.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyMinghui Yang
Apply

Xi'an Honghui Hospital

Xi'an · 6–12 weeks

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks

Exposure: Orthopaedic trauma and polytrauma in a 155-bed host department reporting more than 1,000 trauma cases annually; the centre allows fellows to scrub in without an additional licence

Funding / fees: 2026 AO Trauma contribution: CHF 250 per week for China; travel and insurance remain self-funded

Language: Operating-room language: Chinese. The host rates team English 4/5 written and 3/5 spoken.

Clinical role: The AO host profile states that no additional licence is required to scrub in, but the hospital must confirm the permitted role for each fellow.

Host profile: Xi'an Honghui Hospital's AO profile describes a 155-bed orthopaedic trauma service with more than 1,000 trauma cases and more than 150 major polytrauma cases annually.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyZhang Kun
Apply

Czech Republic

1 centre

University Hospital Královské Vinohrady Orthopaedics and Traumatology

Prague · 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Exposure: Scrub-in fellowship at an 83-bed department reporting more than 1,000 orthopaedic trauma and more than 150 major polytrauma cases annually

Funding / fees: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded

Language: Operating-room language is Czech; the host rates written team English 4/5 and spoken English 5/5

Clinical role: Scrub-in requires approval from the Czech Ministry of Health according to the host profile.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyJakub Maler
Apply

Germany

3 centres

Musculoskeletal University Center Munich, LMU

Munich · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: More than 1,000 orthopaedic trauma cases per year with scrub-in opportunity

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyWolfgang Böcker
Apply

BG Klinikum Hamburg Department of Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery

Hamburg · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: General, pelvis, hand, foot and ankle trauma with research opportunities

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyNot stated
Apply

Charité Center for Musculoskeletal Surgery

Berlin · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Trauma with spine, shoulder, elbow, hip and knee surgery

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyNot stated
Apply

Hong Kong

1 centre

Queen Mary Hospital / The University of Hong Kong

Hong Kong · 6–12 weeks

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks

Exposure: Orthopaedic trauma and polytrauma observation in a 120-bed service reporting more than 1,000 trauma cases annually; this AO host does not permit scrub-in

Funding / fees: 2026 AO Trauma contribution: CHF 348 per week for Hong Kong; travel and insurance remain self-funded

Language: Operating-room language: English. The host rates team English 5/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: This AO host does not allow fellows to scrub in; the placement is observational unless a separate HKU appointment and Hong Kong registration are obtained.

Host profile: Queen Mary Hospital is HKU's acute teaching hospital. AO lists its orthopaedic trauma service as a 120-bed department with more than 1,000 trauma cases annually.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyFrankie Leung
Apply

Israel

1 centre

Hadassah Hebrew University Hospital Orthopaedic Trauma Unit

Jerusalem · 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Exposure: Scrub-in trauma fellowship at a 40-bed unit reporting more than 1,000 annual orthopaedic trauma cases and 101–150 major polytrauma cases

Funding / fees: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded

Language: Operating-room language is Hebrew; the host rates written and spoken team English 5/5

Clinical role: Scrub-in requires hospital-administrator approval according to the official host profile.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyYoram Weil
Apply

Jordan

1 centre

Jordan Hospital Orthopedic and Trauma Department

Amman · 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Exposure: Scrub-in fellowship at a 40-bed department reporting 500–1,000 annual orthopaedic trauma cases and 50–100 major polytrauma cases

Funding / fees: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded

Language: English is the operating-room language; the host rates written and spoken team English 5/5

Clinical role: The official profile states that no additional licence is required to scrub in; final participation remains subject to AO and hospital approval.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyHashem AlQdhah
Apply

Netherlands

1 centre

Erasmus MC Department of Trauma Surgery

Rotterdam · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Orthopaedic trauma, polytrauma, osseointegration and thoracic trauma

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyMichael Verhofstad and Mathieu Wijffels
Apply

Pakistan

1 centre

Indus University Hospital

Karachi · Placement length set through the AO fellowship pathway

Centre details

Duration: Placement length set through the AO fellowship pathway

Exposure: Hands-on trauma and orthopaedic training with more than 1,000 trauma cases annually, plus arthroplasty, upper-limb and hand surgery, microsurgery, paediatric orthopaedics, oncology, Ilizarov reconstruction, infection and clubfoot care

Funding / fees: Funding and living support depend on the AO fellowship award; the host profile does not publish a separate hospital stipend

Language: English is the operating-room language and is rated at the highest published proficiency level by the host team.

Clinical role: The host states that no additional local licence is required to scrub in; final activity remains subject to AO and hospital credentialing.

Host profile: Indus University Hospital's orthopaedic department has 50 beds and publishes more than 1,000 orthopaedic trauma cases annually. The department runs regular morbidity and mortality meetings, grand rounds, core-curriculum sessions and orthoradiology teaching.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultySyed Kamran Ahmed
Apply

Slovenia

1 centre

University Medical Centre Ljubljana Department of Traumatology

Ljubljana · 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Exposure: Scrub-in fellowship at a 190-bed department reporting more than 1,000 annual orthopaedic trauma cases and more than 150 major polytrauma cases, with arthroscopy and weekly teaching

Funding / fees: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded

Language: Operating-room language is Slovenian; the host rates written and spoken team English 4/5

Clinical role: The official profile states that no additional licence is required to scrub in; final participation remains subject to AO and hospital approval.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyTomo Havlicek
Apply

Switzerland

8 centres

CHUV Service d'Orthopédie et Traumatologie

Lausanne · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in opportunity stated

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyDaniel Wagner
Apply

Luzerner Kantonsspital Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgery

Luzern · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in opportunity stated

Funding / fees: CHF 455 administration fee stated

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyFrank Beeres
Apply

Division of Orthopaedics and Trauma Surgery

Winterthur · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in; no special licence stated

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyChristoph Meier
Apply

University Hospital Basel, Orthopaedics & Traumatology

Basel · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in at a 120-bed host reporting more than 1,000 orthopaedic-trauma cases and 50–100 major polytrauma cases annually; weekly education, anatomy dissection, clinical research and case-report work

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: German is the operating-room language; the AO host profile rates staff English proficiency 5/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: The AO host profile records scrub-in and does not publish a separate special-licence requirement; all clinical participation remains subject to hospital approval and Swiss rules.

Host profile: University Hospital Basel's Orthopaedics & Traumatology department combines a high-volume trauma service with specialty teams, structured education and clinical and translational research.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyKarl Stoffel
Apply

Lindenhofspital Bern

Bern · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Scrub-in at a specialist centre reporting 40 beds, 500–1,000 orthopaedic-trauma cases annually and fewer than 50 major polytrauma cases; staff and regional educational activities are available

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: German is the operating-room language; the AO profile rates staff English 3/5 written and 4/5 spoken.

Clinical role: The AO profile records scrub-in and does not publish a separate special-licence requirement; operative participation remains subject to host and Swiss authorisation.

Host profile: The Shoulder & Elbow Centre Hertel at Lindenhofspital is an AO host centre in Bern with dedicated upper-limb practice and structured educational activity.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyRalph Hertel
Apply

Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève

Geneva · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Observational AO Trauma placement without scrub-in at a 100-bed host reporting more than 1,000 orthopaedic-trauma cases and over 150 major polytrauma cases annually; education and SFITS cadaver-laboratory sessions are available

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: French is the operating-room language; the AO host profile rates staff English proficiency 5/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: The official AO host profile states that fellows do not scrub in. It does not authorise independent patient care or operative participation.

Host profile: HUG describes its Orthopaedics & Traumatology service as the largest in Switzerland, with more than 6,500 operations and 45,000 consultations annually, broad subspecialty coverage, SFITS simulation and active research.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyAxel Gamulin
Apply

Spital Oberengadin Orthopaedics

Samedan · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: Official AO host centre

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultySamuel Haupt
Apply

Department of Trauma Surgery, University Hospital Zurich

Zurich · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: High-volume trauma host centre

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyHans-Christoph Pape
Apply

Taiwan

1 centre

E-Da Hospital

Kaohsiung · 6–12 weeks

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks

Exposure: Orthopaedic trauma and polytrauma observation with related brachial-plexus reconstruction, reconstructive microsurgery, spine surgery and elbow external-fixator education; the host does not permit scrub-in

Funding / fees: 2026 AO Trauma contribution: CHF 500 per week for Taiwan; travel and insurance remain self-funded

Language: Operating-room language: Chinese. The host rates team English 3/5 for written and spoken communication.

Clinical role: This host does not allow AO fellows to scrub in; the placement should be treated as observational unless the hospital confirms otherwise.

Host profile: E-Da Hospital's AO profile describes a 120-bed orthopaedic department with more than 1,000 trauma cases annually and additional reconstructive microsurgery, brachial-plexus and spine exposure.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyChing-Hou Ma
Apply

Turkey

1 centre

Ankara Bilkent City Hospital Orthopaedics and Traumatology Clinics

Ankara · Not published by cited source

Centre details

Duration: Not published by cited source

Exposure: More than 2,500 trauma cases annually with scrub-in opportunity

Funding / fees: Not published by cited source

Language: Language information not published

Clinical role: Registration and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed with the host

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyCeyhun Caglar and Erman Ceyhan
Apply

United Arab Emirates

1 centre

Sheikh Shakhbout Medical City Orthopedics Department

Abu Dhabi · 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Centre details

Duration: 6–12 weeks through the AO Trauma pathway

Exposure: Scrub-in fellowship at a 30-bed department reporting more than 1,000 orthopaedic trauma cases and more than 150 major polytrauma cases annually

Funding / fees: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded

Language: English is the operating-room language; the host rates written and spoken team English 5/5

Clinical role: The official host profile states that no additional licence is required to scrub in; final participation remains subject to AO and hospital approval.

Official host profile ↗
Host / facultyHayder Saleh Abdulhadi Al-Saadi
Apply

Centre names and hosts are taken from the cited official network and host profiles. Availability can change; submitting an application does not guarantee acceptance or a particular clinical role.

APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApply through the relevant AO fellowship programme. AO regional selection and the selected host centre determine placement and dates.
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Active AO Trauma membership
  • Previous AO Trauma Basic Principles and Advanced Principles course participation
  • Orthopaedic trauma is the main part of current practice
  • Younger than 45 years in the application year; teaching-hospital employment is recommended
Registration, licence & examinations

Clinical participation is determined by the host centre and local law. AO host-centre status does not itself grant a local medical licence.

Visa / work authorisation

The fellow must obtain the immigration permission required by the host country and confirm the supporting documents with AO and the selected centre.

Application documents
  • Curriculum vitae
  • AO Trauma Basic and Advanced Principles course or activity certificates
  • Medical-school diploma
  • Passport copy
  • Optional photograph, vaccination evidence and English-proficiency evidence

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

One consolidated directory listing for AO Trauma Fellowship Network. Choose a host centre below to review its published duration, clinical role, funding, fees, requirements, faculty and official source before applying through AO.

ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION

Published housing information

✓ Official source mentions accommodation

Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: AO provides a country-adjusted contribution toward accommodation and living costs; travel and insurance are self-funded, and host fees vary by centre

Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.

HOST INSTITUTION

About AO Trauma Fellowship Host Centers

AO Trauma Fellowship Host Centers form a multi-country training network. OrthoFellow consolidates the pathway into one directory listing while retaining a separate evidence-based profile for every indexed hospital or university centre.

View OrthoFellow institution profile Claim or update this profile
FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

HFInstitution associated with Host faculty at the selected AO centre

Program lead: Host faculty at the selected AO centre

Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
AO Trauma Fellowship Host Centers
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Host faculty at the selected AO centre is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for AO Trauma Fellowship Network. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Host faculty at the selected AO centre is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

APPLICANT PROFILE

AO Trauma members under 45 whose main practice is orthopaedic trauma and who meet the published course and selection criteria