HomeSpineAustralia
Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipActive application
Spine

RCH Paediatric Spine Fellowship

The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne

Melbourne · Australia directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Leo Donnan and Michael Johnson

Profile completeness88%
Comprehensive · Missing funding
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Applications are currently open for the August 2028 start; the official form states that applications close in August, but the exact closing day is not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
26 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureApproximately 75% paediatric spine training plus 25% general paediatric orthopaedics, including scoliosis, kyphosis, lordosis, spine tumour and infection, spondylolisthesis and adolescent disc disease, supervised operating, clinics, on-call, research, teaching and audit
Funding · not publishedStipend included; amount not published in the cited profile
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Partially published

International applicant eligibility

Suitable overseas candidates may apply. Indonesian applicants must hold the published equivalent postgraduate orthopaedic qualification and satisfy RCH English-language and clinical credentialing requirements.

Published by official source

Required training level

Completed preliminary orthopaedic training · Fellowship of a Royal College or an equivalent overseas postgraduate diploma · Appropriate qualifications for an Australian or overseas fellowship appointment

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Partially published

Medical registration

The public programme page does not state the exact AHPRA registration pathway; overseas applicants should confirm clinical registration and hospital credentialing directly with RCH.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

Published by official source

Language requirements

Submit IELTS or OET results, or evidence that all secondary and tertiary education was completed in English. The application form states that applicants whose secondary education was outside the United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, United States, New Zealand or South Africa must provide current IELTS Academic results of at least 7 in every category.

Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or support is not published; overseas applicants should confirm work-authorisation arrangements directly with RCH.

Published by official source

Funding availability

Stipend included; amount not published in the cited profile

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

86% of core application fields verified

Checked 26 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-22. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtycurrent status evidencedurationcommencement / intakefundingbenefitseligibilityinternational eligibilitylanguagedeadlineapplication processrequired documentsapplication portalofficial contactfacultyverified faculty photographverified institution logoofficial sourceinstitutional sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification datepositions · queued for source reviewaccommodation / relocation · queued for source reviewRegistration information not published · not published by the cited official sourcevisa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineApplications are currently open for the August 2028 start; the official form states that applications close in August, but the exact closing day is not published
Commencing dateAugust 2028
Application route / cycleApplications open in January and close in August two years before the start; shortlisting is in September, interviews in October, selection in November and notification in December. A separate application is required for each RCH stream.
Official contactA/Prof Leo Donnan · Chief Supervisorcvetanka.bogoeska@rch.org.au+61 3 9345 5450

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Completed preliminary orthopaedic training
  • Fellowship of a Royal College or an equivalent overseas postgraduate diploma
  • Appropriate qualifications for an Australian or overseas fellowship appointment
Registration, licence & examinations

The public programme page does not state the exact AHPRA registration pathway; overseas applicants should confirm clinical registration and hospital credentialing directly with RCH.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or support is not published; overseas applicants should confirm work-authorisation arrangements directly with RCH.

Application documents
  • Typed fellowship application form for this stream
  • Cover letter of no more than 400 words explaining the application and intended career pathway
  • Current curriculum vitae
  • Publication document for publications with a DOI
  • Passport photograph
  • IELTS or OET results, or eligible English-education evidence
  • Copy of the original medical degree
  • Three recent references supporting an RCH paediatric orthopaedic fellowship

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A 12-month Royal Children's Hospital paediatric spine stream covering deformity, tumour, infection and other adolescent spinal disorders. RCH currently states that applications for an August 2028 start are open and publishes the selection timetable, eligibility, English evidence, application checklist and named supervisors.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

A tertiary paediatric service with dedicated operating theatres, outpatient facilities, a gait laboratory, research links with MCRI, weekly case conferences, teaching seminars and supervised clinical responsibility.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

3 listed faculty members

LDLeo Donnan, fellowship faculty at The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne

Program lead: Leo Donnan

Program leadership and paediatric orthopaedic facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Leo Donnan is listed in the cited programme evidence as program leadership and paediatric orthopaedic faculty for RCH Paediatric Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Leo Donnan is listed by the official programme source as program leadership and paediatric orthopaedic faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

MJMichael Johnson, fellowship faculty at The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne

Faculty: Michael Johnson

Paediatric spine facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Michael Johnson is listed in the cited programme evidence as paediatric spine faculty for RCH Paediatric Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Michael Johnson is listed by the official programme source as paediatric spine faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

KLKris Lundine, fellowship faculty at The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne

Faculty: Kris Lundine

Paediatric spine facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Kris Lundine is listed in the cited programme evidence as paediatric spine faculty for RCH Paediatric Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Kris Lundine is listed by the official programme source as paediatric spine faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

APOS fellowship-directory identity checked 2026-08-25. AOA Paediatric-filter identity VIC20626 checked 2026-08-26; directory summary updated 2025-09-11.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Orthopaedic surgeons who have completed preliminary training and hold Fellowship of a Royal College or an equivalent overseas postgraduate diploma.

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS

Published language requirement

Submit IELTS or OET results, or evidence that all secondary and tertiary education was completed in English. The application form states that applicants whose secondary education was outside the United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, United States, New Zealand or South Africa must provide current IELTS Academic results of at least 7 in every category.

OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.

INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

Suitable overseas candidates may apply. Indonesian applicants must hold the published equivalent postgraduate orthopaedic qualification and satisfy RCH English-language and clinical credentialing requirements.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.