Comprehensive · Missing application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Historical published stipend: AUD 80,000 per year
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6 or 12 months in the AOA summary updated 14 December 2022
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
31 Aug 2026
Duration · published6 or 12 months in the AOA summary updated 14 December 2022
Clinical exposurePrimary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty, direct-anterior hip surgery, robotic and navigated knee arthroplasty, arthroscopic meniscal repair and ligament reconstruction, with research and publication
Funding · publishedHistorical published stipend: AUD 80,000 per year
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
AOA accreditation does not establish eligibility for applicants trained in Indonesia. Confirm AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing, English-language evidence and visa sponsorship with the host.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Recently completed orthopaedic training · FRACS or international equivalent · English communication competence · For international applicants, IELTS Academic at least 7 in each competency
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
The dated summary requests certified qualifications after selection but does not state the current AHPRA registration route; confirm this directly.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
The dated summary requires English communication competence and IELTS Academic at least 7 in every competency for international applicants.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation arrangements are not established by AOA accreditation.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Historical published stipend: AUD 80,000 per year
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
41% of core application fields verified
Checked 31 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-27. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— duration · historical evidence only— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · historical evidence only— Language requirement not published · historical evidence only— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— official contact · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleThe dated summary directs applicants to email a CV and three referees; no current intake or deadline is published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Recently completed orthopaedic training
FRACS or international equivalent
English communication competence
For international applicants, IELTS Academic at least 7 in each competency
Registration, licence & examinations
The dated summary requests certified qualifications after selection but does not state the current AHPRA registration route; confirm this directly.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation arrangements are not established by AOA accreditation.
Application documents
Detailed curriculum vitae
Names of three professional referees
Certified undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications after selection
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A six- or twelve-month Bella Vista hip and knee pathway covering primary and revision surgery, direct-anterior hip, robotic and navigated knee arthroplasty, arthroscopy and research. All four named faculty remain on the current host site, but stipend, criteria and application route are dated 2022.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Broad hip and knee reconstruction, technology-assisted arthroplasty and research exposure across Specialty Orthopaedics, Norwest Private and Sydney Adventist hospitals
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Specialty Orthopaedics / Norwest Private Hospital
Specialty Orthopaedics currently lists all four named fellowship supervisors and its Norwest Private Hospital base; it does not publish a current fellowship vacancy.
Chief supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Orthopaedic surgeon; Senior Lecturer in Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
Specialty Orthopaedics
Clinical focus
Knee, shoulder and trauma surgery
Qualifications
MBBS, PhD, FRACS, FAOrthA
Adrian Low is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Specialty Orthopaedics Hip and Knee Arthroplasty Fellowship (NSW2202005). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee, shoulder and trauma surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Dr Low's official profile records medical training at the University of Sydney, a PhD from UNSW and fellowship training in Oxford and Cambridge. He practises shoulder, knee and trauma surgery and holds a senior lecturer appointment at the University of Sydney.
Co-supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Specialty Orthopaedics
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ali Gursel is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Specialty Orthopaedics Hip and Knee Arthroplasty Fellowship (NSW2202005). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ali Gursel is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Co-supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Specialty Orthopaedics
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery and sports injuries
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Louis Shidiak is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Specialty Orthopaedics Hip and Knee Arthroplasty Fellowship (NSW2202005). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery and sports injuries. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Louis Shidiak is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Co-supervisor in the dated AOA summaryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Specialty Orthopaedics
Clinical focus
Hip and knee surgery and joint replacement
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
James Sullivan is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary for Specialty Orthopaedics Hip and Knee Arthroplasty Fellowship (NSW2202005). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip and knee surgery and joint replacement. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
James Sullivan is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor in the dated aoa summary. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
Current AOA Arthroplasty-directory identity rechecked 31 August 2026; programme summary last updated 14 December 2022. Current host roster confirms the named faculty only.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Post-specialist orthopaedic surgeons seeking advanced adult hip and knee reconstruction training; programme-specific qualification and registration criteria apply
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
The dated summary requires English communication competence and IELTS Academic at least 7 in every competency for international applicants.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
AOA accreditation does not establish eligibility for applicants trained in Indonesia. Confirm AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing, English-language evidence and visa sponsorship with the host.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.