AUD 100,000 per annum at the published annualised rate; the source does not state the gross amount for the six-month term
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
23 Sep 2026
Duration · published6 months
Clinical exposureDiagnosis and surgical management across sports-related knee conditions, ACL and other ligament reconstruction, joint-preservation osteotomy, robotic-assisted total knee replacement and research in the Centaur Institute Human Performance Laboratory, with at least one peer-reviewed paper expected
Funding · publishedAUD 100,000 per annum at the published annualised rate; the source does not state the gross amount for the six-month term
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
International orthopaedic specialists may apply with a qualification equivalent to FRACS. The programme requires IELTS Academic scores of at least 7 in every component in one sitting; Australian registration and visa arrangements must be confirmed directly because the source does not publish them.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
FRACS in orthopaedic surgery or an equivalent international specialist qualification · Competence in spoken and written English · Availability to complete the six-month Melbourne appointment and its research requirement
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
An eligible specialist IMG undertaking up to 24 months of advanced training may use the Medical Board of Australia's short-term training pathway. This requires primary-source verification, a confirmed position, specialist-college assessment, supervised-practice documents and limited registration for postgraduate training or supervised practice.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
International applicants must provide IELTS Academic results with at least 7 in every component in one sitting
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
The current AOA programme summary does not publish visa sponsorship or work-authorisation arrangements for international applicants.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
AUD 100,000 per annum at the published annualised rate; the source does not state the gross amount for the six-month term
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
69% of core application fields verified
Checked 23 Sep 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-23. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— institutional source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect availability enquiry by email; the AOA programme summary does not publish a fixed intake calendar
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
FRACS in orthopaedic surgery or an equivalent international specialist qualification
Competence in spoken and written English
Availability to complete the six-month Melbourne appointment and its research requirement
Registration, licence & examinations
An eligible specialist IMG undertaking up to 24 months of advanced training may use the Medical Board of Australia's short-term training pathway. This requires primary-source verification, a confirmed position, specialist-college assessment, supervised-practice documents and limited registration for postgraduate training or supervised practice.
Visa / work authorisation
The current AOA programme summary does not publish visa sponsorship or work-authorisation arrangements for international applicants.
Application documents
Cover letter including a photograph, professional goals and post-fellowship career plans
Certified undergraduate and postgraduate degree copies
Current curriculum vitae
Two written references from senior orthopaedic surgeons who worked with the applicant within the previous two years
IELTS results for international applicants
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A new six-month AOA-accredited Melbourne knee fellowship led by Timothy Whitehead with Cameron Norsworthy. The official September 2026 listing publishes ligament, joint-preservation, robotic-arthroplasty and laboratory-research exposure, an annualised stipend and a direct availability-enquiry route.
HOST INSTITUTION
About St Vincent's Private Hospital / Epworth Richmond / Centaur Institute
The fellowship is delivered across St Vincent's Private Hospital, Epworth Richmond and the Centaur Institute, whose Human Performance Laboratory provides the published research component. Australian registration pathway: https://www.medicalboard.gov.au/Registration/International-Medical-Graduates/Short-term-training. English standard: https://www.ahpra.gov.au/Registration/Registration-Standards/English-language-skills/English-language-skills-registration-standard.
Timothy Whitehead is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief fellowship supervisor for Clinical Knee Fellowship (VIC2503279). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee sports surgery, ligament reconstruction, joint preservation and robotic knee arthroplasty. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Timothy Whitehead is listed by the official programme source as chief fellowship supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
CN
Faculty: Cameron Norsworthy
Co-supervisorOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
St Vincent's Private Hospital / Epworth Richmond / Centaur Institute
Clinical focus
Knee surgery
Qualifications
FRACS, FAOrthA
Cameron Norsworthy is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor for Clinical Knee Fellowship (VIC2503279). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Cameron Norsworthy is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
Current Medical Board/Ahpra short-term training eligibility, registration and English standards reviewed 23 September 2026; programme vacancy and visa sponsorship remain host-specific. The current organisation record and recorded first-party programme evidence were reconciled field by field on 24 September 2026. Any remaining field absent from the reviewed evidence is explicitly recorded as not published; programme availability remains unconfirmed where no dated live call exists.
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
International applicants must provide IELTS Academic results with at least 7 in every component in one sitting
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
International orthopaedic specialists may apply with a qualification equivalent to FRACS. The programme requires IELTS Academic scores of at least 7 in every component in one sitting; Australian registration and visa arrangements must be confirmed directly because the source does not publish them.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.