1 year, usually February to January (historical AOA summary)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year, usually February to January (historical AOA summary)
Clinical exposureComprehensive management of primary and secondary musculoskeletal tumours, multidisciplinary sarcoma planning, structured development of orthopaedic oncology and complex limb-salvage surgical skills, and participation in Bone Tumour Unit research with presentation at meetings.
Funding · not publishedApproximately AUD 120,000 including on-call obligations, in line with SA EBA arrangements for level of training (historical information only)
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
International applicants appear eligible subject to RACS endorsement, AHPRA limited registration, an Australian work visa and IELTS Academic 7 in each section (historical AOA summary).
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Post Fellowship Examination (or equivalent) · Able to gain RACS endorsement for a fellowship programme in Australia · Eligible for limited registration with AHPRA · Able to hold a relevant Australian work visa for the fellowship period · IELTS Academic 7 or above in each section · Specific interest in sarcoma and bone tumour surgery with supporting references, evidence of research activity, procedural log books for review
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Eligible for limited registration with AHPRA; RACS endorsement required
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Must be able to hold a relevant Australian visa for work for the length of the fellowship (subclass not specified).
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Approximately AUD 120,000 including on-call obligations, in line with SA EBA arrangements for level of training (historical information only)
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
38% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · historical evidence only— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · historical evidence only— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · historical evidence only— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · historical evidence only— visa / work authorisation · historical evidence only— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · not published by the cited official source— official contact · historical evidence only— Faculty information requires reverification · historical evidence only— institutional source · source temporarily inaccessible
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateUsually February (historical AOA summary)
Official contactSylvia McAndrew, Executive Assistant, Department of Orthopaedics, Flinders Medical Centre (historical contact)sylvia.mcandrew@sa.gov.au+61 8 8204 4289
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Post Fellowship Examination (or equivalent)
Able to gain RACS endorsement for a fellowship programme in Australia
Eligible for limited registration with AHPRA
Able to hold a relevant Australian work visa for the fellowship period
IELTS Academic 7 or above in each section
Specific interest in sarcoma and bone tumour surgery with supporting references, evidence of research activity, procedural log books for review
Registration, licence & examinations
Eligible for limited registration with AHPRA; RACS endorsement required
Visa / work authorisation
Must be able to hold a relevant Australian visa for work for the length of the fellowship (subclass not specified).
Application documents
Expression of interest
Curriculum vitae
Referee reports
Log book
Contact details
IELTS Academic result (7 or above in each section)
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year AOA-accredited orthopaedic oncology fellowship based at the Flinders Medical Centre Sarcoma & Bone Tumour Unit with Adelaide partner hospitals, covering primary and metastatic bone and soft-tissue tumours and limb salvage.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Flinders Medical Centre Sarcoma & Bone Tumour Unit
Flinders Medical Centre is the major public teaching hospital of the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network and hosts a sarcoma and bone tumour unit within its orthopaedic department. Sites named in the official sources: Flinders Medical Centre, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Sarcoma & Bone Tumour Unit / Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer, Flinders Private Hospital, Repatriation General Hospital, Noarlunga Health Service, Stirling Private Hospital, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Women's and Children's Hospital.
Sarcoma & Bone Tumour Unit, Flinders Medical Centre (per AOA summary; no current official profile found)
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Luke Johnson is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor for Flinders Sarcoma and Bone Tumour Fellowship (SA1692). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Luke Johnson is listed by the official programme source as chief supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Clinical and Academic Director of Orthopaedics and Trauma Surgery, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network; Flinders University
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ruurd Jaarsma is listed in the cited programme evidence as supervisor for Flinders Sarcoma and Bone Tumour Fellowship (SA1692). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ruurd Jaarsma is listed by the official programme source as supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Bone tumour and joint reconstruction consultant, Royal Adelaide Hospital orthopaedic surgery (listed on unit page, no individual profile)
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jakub Jagiello is listed in the cited programme evidence as supervisor for Flinders Sarcoma and Bone Tumour Fellowship (SA1692). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jakub Jagiello is listed by the official programme source as supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
International applicants appear eligible subject to RACS endorsement, AHPRA limited registration, an Australian work visa and IELTS Academic 7 in each section (historical AOA summary).
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.