✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
More than AUD 120,000 per year with potential additional on-call earnings in the AOA summary; confirm the appointment-year package
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months, 1 August–31 July
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
31 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months, 1 August–31 July
Clinical exposurePrivate assisting and consulting plus supervised public-hospital operating, shoulder and elbow arthroscopy, primary and revision shoulder and elbow and hip and knee arthroplasty, trauma and general knee reconstruction
Funding · publishedMore than AUD 120,000 per year with potential additional on-call earnings in the AOA summary; confirm the appointment-year package
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
International applicants must independently satisfy AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing and Australian visa requirements. AOA accreditation does not guarantee appointment eligibility or visa sponsorship.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
FRACS and AOA specialist qualifications under the published criteria
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
AHPRA and hospital credentialing are not separately stated in the summary and must be confirmed before appointment.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
No separate language threshold was abstracted from the current AOA programme summary.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
No international-eligibility or visa-sponsorship pathway is published in the reviewed official sources.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
More than AUD 120,000 per year with potential additional on-call earnings in the AOA summary; confirm the appointment-year package
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 31 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-27. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing date1 August
Application route / cycleDirect email enquiry to Ed Bateman; no current dated closing deadline or confirmed vacancy is published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
FRACS and AOA specialist qualifications under the published criteria
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA and hospital credentialing are not separately stated in the summary and must be confirmed before appointment.
Visa / work authorisation
No international-eligibility or visa-sponsorship pathway is published in the reviewed official sources.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A twelve-month Central Coast arthroplasty-and-trauma pathway with upper- and lower-limb reconstruction, supervised public operating and private practice exposure. The programme publishes duration, stipend, start date, scope and direct contact, but not capacity, documents or a current vacancy.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Progression toward complex primary-surgeon procedures in the second six months and access to cadaveric shoulder arthroplasty and arthroscopy workshops
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About COSI Orthopaedics / North Gosford Private Hospital / Central Coast public hospitals
COSI currently confirms Ed Bateman's four-joint arthroscopy and arthroplasty practice, limb-salvage interest and Gosford public and private appointments; no live fellowship call is published.
Shoulder, elbow, hip and knee arthroscopy, arthroplasty, trauma and limb salvage
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ed Bateman is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor for Bateman Orthopaedics Advanced Arthroplasty and Trauma Fellowship (NSW2302197). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder, elbow, hip and knee arthroscopy, arthroplasty, trauma and limb salvage. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ed Bateman is listed by the official programme source as chief supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
COSI Orthopaedics / North Gosford Private Hospital / Central Coast public hospitals
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Islam Nassar is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Bateman Orthopaedics Advanced Arthroplasty and Trauma Fellowship (NSW2302197). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Islam Nassar is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
Current AOA Trauma-filter identity NSW2302197 was reviewed with the current COSI supervisor page on 31 August 2026. No dated recruitment cycle was identified.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking advanced trauma, pelvic-acetabular or combined trauma-subspecialty training; the programme-specific AHPRA and qualification criteria apply
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
No separate language threshold was abstracted from the current AOA programme summary.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
International applicants must independently satisfy AHPRA registration, hospital credentialing and Australian visa requirements. AOA accreditation does not guarantee appointment eligibility or visa sponsorship.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.