6 months (2017 AOA summary); not stated on the current host page
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published6 months (2017 AOA summary); not stated on the current host page
Clinical exposureComprehensive knee surgery exposure: arthroscopy, ligament reconstruction, joint-preservation osteotomy and arthroplasty (including robotic), some trauma including major ligament disruptions and paediatric knee conditions; four surgical sessions per week as assistant, primary operating each fortnight and one outpatient clinic per fortnight at Western Health, and at least three research sessions per week with La Trobe University links.
Funding · not publishedHistorical information only: approx. AUD 35,000 per full six-month fellowship period (2017 AOA summary); not published on the current host page
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Open to overseas certified orthopaedic specialists via Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice (2017 AOA summary)
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Practising certified specialist in orthopaedic surgery in country of residence at time of commencement · Eligible for Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice with the Medical Board of Australia · NZ orthopaedic surgeons eligible for General Registration if primary medical degree undertaken in NZ · Meets AHPRA English proficiency requirements (exemption possible for doctors from Canada, NZ, Ireland, South Africa, UK and USA educated in English) · FRACS (orthopaedics) or equivalent overseas qualification
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice with the Medical Board of Australia (General Registration for eligible NZ surgeons) — 2017 AOA summary
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Historical information only: approx. AUD 35,000 per full six-month fellowship period (2017 AOA summary); not published on the current host page
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
55% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ benefits✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · historical evidence only— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · historical evidence only— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · historical evidence only— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleEmail kneefellowship@osv.com.au; selection occurs approximately 18 months in advance (current host page)
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Practising certified specialist in orthopaedic surgery in country of residence at time of commencement
Eligible for Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice with the Medical Board of Australia
NZ orthopaedic surgeons eligible for General Registration if primary medical degree undertaken in NZ
Meets AHPRA English proficiency requirements (exemption possible for doctors from Canada, NZ, Ireland, South Africa, UK and USA educated in English)
FRACS (orthopaedics) or equivalent overseas qualification
Registration, licence & examinations
Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice with the Medical Board of Australia (General Registration for eligible NZ surgeons) — 2017 AOA summary
Visa / work authorisation
Not published
Application documents
Not specified on the current host page or AOA summary
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A knee clinical/research fellowship with Professor Julian Feller's group at OrthoSport Victoria covering ligament, osteotomy, robotic arthroplasty and paediatric knee surgery with protected research time and Western Health operating.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Strong clinical-research programme with La Trobe University links; expected to contribute at least one peer-reviewed paper (host page)
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About OrthoSport Victoria / Epworth Richmond, Epworth Eastern and Western Health
OrthoSport Victoria is a multi-surgeon Melbourne orthopaedic group based at Epworth Richmond offering knee, foot and ankle, hand and trauma/reconstruction fellowships, with a long-running knee research programme.
Julian Feller is listed in the cited programme evidence as supervising surgeon (chief supervisor) for OrthoSport Victoria Clinical/Research Fellowship in Knee Surgery (VIC1015). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Julian Feller is listed by the official programme source as supervising surgeon (chief supervisor). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Cameron Norsworthy is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor for OrthoSport Victoria Clinical/Research Fellowship in Knee Surgery (VIC1015). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Cameron Norsworthy is listed by the official programme source as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Lachlan Batty is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor for OrthoSport Victoria Clinical/Research Fellowship in Knee Surgery (VIC1015). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Lachlan Batty is listed by the official programme source as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Julia Kirby is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor; application contact for OrthoSport Victoria Clinical/Research Fellowship in Knee Surgery (VIC1015). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Julia Kirby is listed by the official programme source as orthopaedic surgeon / supervisor; application contact. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Research supervisor (2017 AOA summary); research associate and advisor (host research page)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
La Trobe University
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kate Webster is listed in the cited programme evidence as research supervisor (2017 aoa summary); research associate and advisor (host research page) for OrthoSport Victoria Clinical/Research Fellowship in Knee Surgery (VIC1015). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kate Webster is listed by the official programme source as research supervisor (2017 aoa summary); research associate and advisor (host research page). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Open to overseas certified orthopaedic specialists via Limited Registration for Postgraduate Training or Supervised Practice (2017 AOA summary)
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.