Base salary $115,500 + Professional Development Allowance $8,625 + 11.5% superannuation + weekday regular overtime and on-call payments (AOA summary)
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months (AOA summary header); the same summary's goals section also describes the spinal fellowship as a 6- or 12-month position and the service's fellow terms as 12–18 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published12 months (AOA summary header); the same summary's goals section also describes the spinal fellowship as a 6- or 12-month position and the service's fellow terms as 12–18 months
Clinical exposureAdult and paediatric spinal surgery at the WA Level 1 trauma centre, including degenerative, deformity/scoliosis and trauma care: four outpatient clinics and at least four elective operating sessions per week, optional consultant-led 24-hour spinal injury on-call, plus one day per week of research and administration at PlusLife (allograft process review and retrievals).
Funding · publishedBase salary $115,500 + Professional Development Allowance $8,625 + 11.5% superannuation + weekday regular overtime and on-call payments (AOA summary)
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Not stated explicitly; applicants must be eligible for Medical Board of Australia registration (AOA summary)
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Eligible for registration with the Medical Board of Australia (AHPRA) · Appropriate level of postgraduate orthopaedic or neurosurgical training · Demonstrated high standard of clinical practice and professional integrity · Ability to work in a multidisciplinary team; commitment to quality improvement; adaptability · Experience in scientific and/or clinical research, with evidence of research experience · Knowledge of clinical standards, policies/protocols and spinal surgical techniques
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Must be eligible for registration with the Medical Board of Australia (AHPRA)
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Base salary $115,500 + Professional Development Allowance $8,625 + 11.5% superannuation + weekday regular overtime and on-call payments (AOA summary)
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ registration✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · official sources conflict— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · source temporarily inaccessible— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · source temporarily inaccessible
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Eligible for registration with the Medical Board of Australia (AHPRA)
Appropriate level of postgraduate orthopaedic or neurosurgical training
Demonstrated high standard of clinical practice and professional integrity
Ability to work in a multidisciplinary team; commitment to quality improvement; adaptability
Experience in scientific and/or clinical research, with evidence of research experience
Knowledge of clinical standards, policies/protocols and spinal surgical techniques
Registration, licence & examinations
Must be eligible for registration with the Medical Board of Australia (AHPRA)
Visa / work authorisation
Not published
Application documents
Not specified in the AOA summary
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month AOA-accredited spine fellowship at Royal Perth Hospital combining elective, deformity and trauma spinal surgery with one day per week at PlusLife, WA's bone and tissue bank.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Structured teaching: weekly advanced registrar teaching (Thursday afternoons) and weekly FRACS-exam tutorials by the chief supervisor; research support towards state/national presentations and peer-reviewed publication (AOA summary)
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Royal Perth Hospital State Spinal Service / PlusLife
Royal Perth Hospital's State Spinal and Scoliosis Service (Spinal Injuries Unit and Scoliosis/Spinal Deformity Unit) provides 24/7 statewide spinal cover from WA's Level 1 trauma centre, with five fellowship-trained spinal surgeons. Sites named in the official sources: Royal Perth Hospital State Spinal and Scoliosis Service / PlusLife (Perth Bone and Tissue Bank).
Chief supervisor; Head of Spinal SurgeryOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Royal Perth Hospital State Spinal and Scoliosis Service
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Peter Woodland is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief supervisor; head of spinal surgery for Royal Perth Hospital PlusLife Spinal Allograft Fellowship (WA2402297). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Peter Woodland is listed by the official programme source as chief supervisor; head of spinal surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DD
Faculty: David Dillon
Co-supervisorOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Perth Hospital State Spinal and Scoliosis Service
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
David Dillon is listed in the cited programme evidence as co-supervisor for Royal Perth Hospital PlusLife Spinal Allograft Fellowship (WA2402297). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
David Dillon is listed by the official programme source as co-supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Not stated explicitly; applicants must be eligible for Medical Board of Australia registration (AOA summary)
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.