HomeObservershipIndia
Primary source reviewedObservershipClosed
Spine

APSS–Ganga Hospital Spine Fellowship 2026

Ganga Hospital Spine Surgery Unit

Coimbatore · India directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Professor S Rajasekaran

Profile completeness88%
Comprehensive · Missing funding
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
30 April 2026 — applications closed
Duration
3 weeks, to be completed before 31 December 2026
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 weeks, to be completed before 31 December 2026
Clinical exposureStructured attachment with the Ganga Hospital spine team in its Orthopaedic Surgery Department
Funding · not publishedEconomy return airfare to Coimbatore covered; host-arranged accommodation and airport transfer
DestinationIndia
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

Published by official source

Required training level

Active, paid APSS membership for at least three years; preference is given to current life members · Age 45 years or younger · Effective English communication and legal eligibility to travel abroad · University postgraduate degree or national equivalent · At least 50% of the current workload in spine surgery · Not a previous recipient of an APSS fellowship

Published by official source

Programme classification

Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.

Partially published

Medical registration

The award is a three-week educational attachment. The official APSS call does not state that it grants Indian medical registration or independent operative privileges.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

Published by official source

Language requirements

Effective English communication is required

Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Applicants must have legal status to travel abroad and remain responsible for the visa and insurance documents required for India unless the current award letter states otherwise.

Published by official source

Funding availability

Economy return airfare to Coimbatore covered; host-arranged accommodation and airport transfer

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

93% of core application fields verified

Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtycurrent status evidencedurationpositionscommencement / intakebenefitsaccommodation / relocationeligibilitylanguageregistrationvisa / work authorisationdeadlineapplication processrequired documentsapplication portalofficial contactfacultyverified faculty photographverified institution logoofficial sourceinstitutional sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification dateFunding information not published · queued for source reviewinternational eligibility · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadline30 April 2026 — applications closed
Commencing dateDates arranged with Ganga Hospital; completion required by 31 December 2026
Application route / cycleCurrent application cycle requires confirmation
Official contactAPSS Secretariatspine@apssonline.org

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Active, paid APSS membership for at least three years; preference is given to current life members
  • Age 45 years or younger
  • Effective English communication and legal eligibility to travel abroad
  • University postgraduate degree or national equivalent
  • At least 50% of the current workload in spine surgery
  • Not a previous recipient of an APSS fellowship
Registration, licence & examinations

The award is a three-week educational attachment. The official APSS call does not state that it grants Indian medical registration or independent operative privileges.

Visa / work authorisation

Applicants must have legal status to travel abroad and remain responsible for the visa and insurance documents required for India unless the current award letter states otherwise.

Application documents
  • Completed APSS fellowship application form
  • Curriculum vitae of no more than four pages covering qualifications, current appointments, publications, presentations and spine experience
  • Supporting qualification certificates
  • Two recommendation letters from eligible chapter, department or society leaders
  • Recent passport-size photograph
  • Passport valid for at least six months
  • Spine abstract of no more than 300 words
  • Completed application-criteria form
  • Spine surgery logbook covering 2024 and 2025

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A fully supported three-week APSS attachment at Ganga Hospital. The 2026 official call publishes the two positions, deadline, host, detailed eligibility, application checklist and travel/accommodation support.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Economy return travel, accommodation for the fellowship period and local airport-transfer arrangements.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION

Published housing information

✓ Official source mentions accommodation

Accommodation is arranged by the host for the full three-week placement.

Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

PSInstitution associated with Professor S Rajasekaran

Program lead: Professor S Rajasekaran

Head of the Spine Surgery UnitOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Ganga Hospital
Clinical focus
Spine surgery and complex spinal disorders
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Professor S Rajasekaran is listed in the cited programme evidence as head of the spine surgery unit for APSS–Ganga Hospital Spine Fellowship 2026. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine surgery and complex spinal disorders. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Professor S Rajasekaran is listed by the official programme source as head of the spine surgery unit. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

APSS states that the named Ganga Hospital fellowship has been offered since 2018.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Established APSS members aged 45 or younger whose current workload is at least 50% spine surgery

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS

Published language requirement

Effective English communication is required

OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.