✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
Commensurate with training level plus benefits; the official program page does not publish a dollar amount
Deadline
15 October
Duration
12 months, starting 1 August
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months, starting 1 August
Clinical exposureArthroscopy, fracture care, joint reconstruction, complex primary and revision surgery, weekly didactics, teaching and at least one research project
Funding · publishedCommensurate with training level plus benefits; the official program page does not publish a dollar amount
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Commensurate with training level plus benefits; the official program page does not publish a dollar amount
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
76% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline15 October
Commencing date1 August
Application route / cycleASES / SF Match; interviews run from Labor Day through 13 December
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A comprehensive one-year fellowship with two positions, broad clinical and operative responsibility, weekly didactics and a required research project. The official Johns Hopkins page lists the current deadline, start date, faculty and direct division contact.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Employee benefits are included; educational support includes weekly shoulder teaching, research resources, optional athletic-event coverage, outreach speaking opportunities and practice-management teaching.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Johns Hopkins University
Johns Hopkins provides the fellowship across its university and affiliated clinical facilities. The official curriculum emphasises broad shoulder pathology, fellows' own clinic time, supervised surgery, research, teaching and evidence-based patient care.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Johns Hopkins University
Clinical focus
Shoulder & Elbow training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Edward G. McFarland is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Johns Hopkins Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder & Elbow training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Edward G. McFarland is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Uma Srikumaran is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Johns Hopkins Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder & Elbow training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Uma Srikumaran is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The official page publishes past-fellow cohorts and describes a continuing two-fellow annual programme supported by the Johns Hopkins shoulder and elbow faculty.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Applicants must follow the ASES / SF Match requirements and the program’s licensing and residency prerequisites