Faculty / program leadership: Emilie Cheung and Michael T. Freehill
Profile completeness94%
Comprehensive · Missing commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
USD 113,000 as published by the ASES directory; Stanford's official programme page confirms that a stipend is available but does not state the amount
Deadline
The host page displays 1 November 2025 for its published 2026 interview cycle; the next deadline is not yet displayed
Duration
12 months, August 1–July 31
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months, August 1–July 31
Clinical exposureMore than 600 cases annually: approximately 40% shoulder arthroplasty, 45% shoulder arthroscopy and 15% elbow surgery, plus monthly journal clubs, weekly didactics and clinical research
Funding · publishedUSD 113,000 as published by the ASES directory; Stanford's official programme page confirms that a stipend is available but does not state the amount
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Complete an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
A California medical licence is required. Stanford links applicants to the Medical Board of California and USMLE resources but does not publish a separate programme-specific score threshold.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
USD 113,000 as published by the ASES directory; Stanford's official programme page confirms that a stipend is available but does not state the amount
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
83% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ registration✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe host page displays 1 November 2025 for its published 2026 interview cycle; the next deadline is not yet displayed
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApplication through SF Match
Official contactNicole A. Matson, Fellowship Coordinator+1 650 721 1836
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Complete an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency
Registration, licence & examinations
A California medical licence is required. Stanford links applicants to the Medical Board of California and USMLE resources but does not publish a separate programme-specific score threshold.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year ASES-accredited shoulder-and-elbow fellowship with high-volume complex surgery, weekly teaching and research. Stanford's own programme page now replaces a directory-only link for the core programme information and publishes a named coordinator.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Stanford confirms a stipend and extensive clinical-research opportunities. Its 2026–2027 GME table publishes USD 124,280 at PGY-6 and USD 130,540.80 at PGY-7, each including a USD 12,000 housing allowance; the fellowship page does not specify which appointment level applies, so candidates should confirm their contract rate.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Stanford confirms a stipend and extensive clinical-research opportunities. Its 2026–2027 GME table publishes USD 124,280 at PGY-6 and USD 130,540.80 at PGY-7, each including a USD 12,000 housing allowance; the fellowship page does not specify which appointment level applies, so candidates should confirm their contract rate.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Stanford University
Stanford's Shoulder and Elbow Service is based at a major Silicon Valley tertiary referral centre and reports more than 600 operative cases annually across arthroplasty, arthroscopy and elbow surgery.
Shoulder & Elbow Fellowship Program DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Shoulder & Elbow Fellowship Program Director
Affiliation
Stanford University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Complex shoulder and elbow reconstruction, arthroscopy and arthroplasty
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Emilie Cheung is listed in the cited programme evidence as shoulder & elbow fellowship program director for Stanford Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Complex shoulder and elbow reconstruction, arthroscopy and arthroplasty. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stanford identifies Dr Cheung as program director for its one-year Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship and teaching faculty for the service's high-volume tertiary referral practice.
Chief of the Shoulder & Elbow ServiceOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Chief, Shoulder & Elbow Service
Affiliation
Stanford University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Shoulder and elbow sports injuries, arthroscopy, reconstruction and arthroplasty
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Michael T. Freehill is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief of the shoulder & elbow service for Stanford Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder and elbow sports injuries, arthroscopy, reconstruction and arthroplasty. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stanford lists Dr Freehill as chief of the Shoulder and Elbow Service and senior faculty for its ASES-accredited fellowship.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Applicants must follow the ASES / SF Match requirements and the program’s licensing and residency prerequisites