Faculty / program leadership: Christopher C. Schmidt and Dean G. Sotereanos
Profile completeness74%
Well sourced · Missing duration, commencement date, official contact
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
R6 salary level plus full benefits
Deadline
The official application page retains a closed 1 December 2024 cycle; the next opening is not confirmed
Duration
Not published
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · not publishedNot published by cited source
Clinical exposureComprehensive shoulder and elbow clinical, operative and research training; see the official program profile
Funding · publishedR6 salary level plus full benefits
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Applicants must follow the ASES / SF Match requirements and the program’s licensing and residency prerequisites
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
R6 salary level plus full benefits
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
55% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ positions✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— duration · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · historical evidence only— official contact · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe official application page retains a closed 1 December 2024 cycle; the next opening is not confirmed
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleHistorical UPMC recruitment wording refers to reopening for 2027–28, but no current application route or date is published
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Applicants must follow the ASES / SF Match requirements and the program’s licensing and residency prerequisites
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
UPMC Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship is an ASES-recognized shoulder and elbow fellowship hosted by University of Pittsburgh Medical Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States. The official ASES profile is the primary source for the programme's clinical, operative and research scope.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes comprehensive shoulder and elbow clinical, operative and research training; see the official program profile.
Programme lead / named supervisorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Clinical focus
Shoulder & Elbow
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Christopher C. Schmidt is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme lead / named supervisor for UPMC Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder & Elbow. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Christopher C. Schmidt is listed by the official programme source as programme lead / named supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Named programme facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Clinical focus
Shoulder & Elbow
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Dean G. Sotereanos is listed in the cited programme evidence as named programme faculty for UPMC Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Shoulder & Elbow. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Dean G. Sotereanos is listed by the official programme source as named programme faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Applicants must follow the ASES / SF Match requirements and the program’s licensing and residency prerequisites