Entry requirements published; international route unconfirmed
Funding
Michigan publishes salary and benefits through its trainee portal but the fellowship page does not state the current appointment amount
Deadline
Mid-November 2026
Duration
1 year, 1 August–31 July
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureCombined plastic and orthopaedic hand services with adult and paediatric tertiary care, microsurgery, brachial plexus, congenital differences, trauma, reconstruction, community practice and optional global-health experience
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
—Not published
International applicants
The public ASSH index does not establish international eligibility, licensing, ECFMG requirements or visa sponsorship; confirm every requirement with the host before applying.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Programme-specific medical licensing, qualifying residency and hospital credentialing requirements have not yet been abstracted.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship is programme-specific and is not established by ASSH directory inclusion.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY76% of core application fields verifiedChecked 23 Sep 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-22
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineMid-November 2026
Commencing date1 August annually
Application route / cycleOfficial page states that the ASSH application opens in October 2026, with in-person interviews on 8 February and 12 March 2027
Official contactDepartment of Surgery Education Office
Board eligibility in plastic surgery or orthopaedic surgery
Meet University of Michigan fellowship employment prerequisites
Application documents
Not published
Not published by the cited official source.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A two-position combined Michigan fellowship with an officially announced October 2026 application opening and February–March 2027 interviews. The programme publishes its calendar, eligibility, leadership, faculty and broad clinical curriculum; the current salary amount is linked but not stated on the fellowship page.
Intended for: Eligible surgical graduates pursuing advanced hand, upper-extremity or microsurgery training; qualifying specialty is programme-specific
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Weekly joint teaching, simulation and microsurgical laboratories, conference support, research infrastructure, community experience and an available international teaching and service trip
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Michigan Medical School / Michigan Medicine
Michigan Medicine publishes two annual positions in a combined programme spanning its university hospital, C.S. Mott Children's Hospital, ambulatory centres and a community hospital.
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy