Names in the programme record: George A. C. Murrell
Profile completeness100%
Comprehensive · Core fields complete
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
AUD 56,000 stipend plus benefits
Deadline
December 31 each year, 18 months before the August start (year not stated on the page)
Duration
12 months, August–July
Hands-on
Supervised participation published
Clinical exposureHands-on shoulder clinics and operating, arthroscopy and sports-medicine training, with two protected research days per week
Participation levelSupervised clinical participation is published; exact privileges remain subject to host credentialing and local law.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Specialist international medical graduates may be eligible for Australia's short-term training in a medical specialty pathway for up to 24 months. Eligibility requires recognised qualifications, completed internship, specialist or near-completion status, a confirmed host offer, college assessment and Medical Board/Ahpra registration; AOA accreditation alone does not guarantee host acceptance.
≈Partially published
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on shoulder clinics and operating, arthroscopy and sports-medicine training, with two protected research days per week Exact privileges remain subject to host credentialing.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
An eligible specialist IMG undertaking up to 24 months of advanced training may use the Medical Board of Australia's short-term training pathway. This requires primary-source verification, a confirmed position, specialist-college assessment, supervised-practice documents and limited registration for postgraduate training or supervised practice.
✓Published by official source
Language
Australian medical registration applicants must meet the current Ahpra English-language skills standard through an accepted education or test pathway; the standard includes IELTS Academic, OET, PTE Academic, TOEFL iBT and Cambridge routes with current score and validity rules.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY83% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-08 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— accreditation / organisation source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineDecember 31 each year, 18 months before the August start (year not stated on the page)
Commencing dateAugust
Application route / cycleThe ORI page (re-read 3 October 2026) states a one-year fellowship running August to July with a deadline of December 31, 18 months before the start of the fellowship. No year-specific deadline is published; the annual date is 31 December.
For the Medical Board short-term training pathway: a primary medical qualification recognised by the AMC and World Directory of Medical Schools
Completed medical internship or comparable overseas training
Qualified as a specialist in the country of training, or within two years of completing specialist training
A confirmed Australian training-position offer and specialist-college suitability assessment before limited-registration application
Application documents
Not published
Not published by the cited official source.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year shoulder and sports-medicine fellowship directed by Professor George Murrell. The institute publishes the August start, application deadline, stipend, protected research allocation, no-call arrangement and direct contact details.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Two protected research days each week and no on-call duties are described on the official programme page.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Orthopaedic Research Institute / St George Hospital
The Orthopaedic Research Institute is linked with St George Hospital and UNSW and combines shoulder clinical care with laboratory and clinical research. Australian registration pathway: medicalboard.gov.au ↗. English standard: ahpra.gov.au ↗.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Position / status
Director, Orthopaedic Research Institute
Affiliation
Orthopaedic Research Institute / St George Hospital / UNSW
Clinical focus
Shoulder surgery, arthroscopic tendon repair and tendon-healing research
Qualifications
MD (UNSW), PhD (Oxon)
Professor Murrell is an orthopaedic shoulder surgeon and clinician-scientist. ORI records his Oxford doctorate, Duke orthopaedic training and two-year sports medicine, shoulder and research fellowship at Hospital for Special Surgery.
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy