Well sourced · Missing original program page, application deadline, commencement date
— Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Full salary commensurate with experience, as stated in the 2025 AOA–NSA profile
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureAdult and paediatric spinal surgery within a major tertiary referral service
Funding · publishedFull salary commensurate with experience, as stated in the 2025 AOA–NSA profile
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Applicants should have completed orthopaedic or neurosurgical fellowship training and must meet Australian registration requirements
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Applicants should have completed orthopaedic or neurosurgical fellowship training and must meet Australian registration requirements
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Full salary commensurate with experience, as stated in the 2025 AOA–NSA profile
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect email application to the programme office; the AOA–NSA profile does not publish a fixed deadline or next commencement date
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Applicants should have completed orthopaedic or neurosurgical fellowship training and must meet Australian registration requirements
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
The Newcastle Spinal Fellowship is a salaried 12-month appointment for surgeons who have completed orthopaedic or neurosurgical training, with adult and paediatric spine exposure at John Hunter Hospital and the Royal Newcastle Centre.
HOST INSTITUTION
About John Hunter Hospital / Royal Newcastle Centre
John Hunter Hospital is Newcastle's major tertiary referral hospital and provides adult and paediatric services through the Hunter New England health network.
Director of the Spinal Fellowship programmeOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
John Hunter Hospital
Clinical focus
Adult and paediatric neurosurgery and spine surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Richard Ferch is listed in the cited programme evidence as director of the spinal fellowship programme for Newcastle Spinal Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Adult and paediatric neurosurgery and spine surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Richard Ferch is listed by the official programme source as director of the spinal fellowship programme. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Applicants should have completed orthopaedic or neurosurgical fellowship training and must meet Australian registration requirements
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.