Faculty / program leadership: Nils Calderón Tejerina
Profile completeness74%
Well sourced · Missing application deadline, commencement date, entry requirements
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
Private, public and philanthropic support categories are listed; no amount, salary or covered-expense breakdown is published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
3 months
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 months
Clinical exposureKnee and shoulder arthroscopy, arthroplasty, biologics, operating-room preparation, surgical planning and assisting, plus sports-medicine research at approximately 3,600 metres altitude
Funding · publishedPrivate, public and philanthropic support categories are listed; no amount, salary or covered-expense breakdown is published
DestinationBolivia
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
The teaching-centre profile lists Spanish as the primary language; no formal test score is published
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Private, public and philanthropic support categories are listed; no amount, salary or covered-expense breakdown is published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
52% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ funding✓ benefits✓ language✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · official sources conflict— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Verified institution logo not available · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect application is listed; no dated intake, deadline or current vacancy is published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A three-month, four-place La Paz arthroscopy and sports-medicine fellowship with four named faculty, skills labs and high-altitude research. Financial-support categories are listed without monetary terms.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Direct application and three arthroscopy skills laboratories in La Paz, with a custom high-altitude sports-medicine research setting
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Instituto TUMI / Clínica Fides / Clínica Los Andes
Instituto TUMI identifies itself as an ISAKOS-registered subspecialty fellowship teaching centre since 2018 and publishes Nils Calderón's knee, shoulder, sports, arthroscopy and regenerative-medicine practice.
Knee and shoulder surgery, sports injuries, arthroscopy and regenerative medicine
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Nils Calderón Tejerina is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor for Instituto TUMI Arthroscopy and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee and shoulder surgery, sports injuries, arthroscopy and regenerative medicine. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Nils Calderón Tejerina is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Instituto TUMI / Clínica Fides / Clínica Los Andes
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Fernando Claros is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Instituto TUMI Arthroscopy and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Fernando Claros is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JT
Faculty: Jhonny Trigo
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Instituto TUMI / Clínica Fides / Clínica Los Andes
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jhonny Trigo is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Instituto TUMI Arthroscopy and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jhonny Trigo is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
SM
Faculty: Sergio Morillas
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Instituto TUMI / Clínica Fides / Clínica Los Andes
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Sergio Morillas is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Instituto TUMI Arthroscopy and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Sergio Morillas is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The teaching centre reports receiving five fellows in 2023 for consultations, second-assistant surgery, professional-football exposure, Olympic performance-centre visits and research. The programme row lists four fellows per year, while the broader centre profile lists eight.
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
The teaching-centre profile lists Spanish as the primary language; no formal test score is published
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.