Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
The host form states sponsor N/A and does not publish salary, stipend or employment benefits
Deadline
December preceding the August start (year not stated)
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureComprehensive elective and trauma hand surgery with elbow work, selected shoulder and elbow arthroscopy, research and leadership; excludes major replantation and congenital hand surgery
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
International doctors may apply only when they satisfy an eligible GMC registration route and the employing trust's selection requirements. BSSH directory inclusion does not confirm that an individual trust accepts international applicants or provides visa sponsorship.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Clinical practice requires the appropriate GMC registration and licence. International graduates must use an eligible GMC route and provide the medical qualification, experience, English, identity and good-standing evidence required for that route.
✓Published by official source
Language
Doctors who need UK registration must satisfy the GMC that they have the English knowledge needed to practise safely; accepted evidence depends on the applicant's registration route.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Applicants who need UK work permission must confirm sponsorship with the employing organisation. The Health and Care Worker route requires an eligible job, approved employer, certificate of sponsorship, applicable salary and English requirements; directory inclusion does not confirm sponsorship.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY79% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-08 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— institutional source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineDecember preceding the August start (year not stated)
Commencing dateEvery August
Application route / cycleApplications via NHS Jobs; closing date the December before an August start, interviews January/February (year not stated).
Confirm employing-trust appointment, GMC and right-to-work requirements
Appropriate prior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery training for the employing trust's fellowship post
Eligibility for the GMC registration and licence required for the post
Satisfaction of the employing trust's clinical competence, identity, good-standing and credentialing requirements
Application documents
Not published
Not published by the cited official source.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month post-CCT Wirral fellowship with broad hand and elbow elective and trauma surgery, selected shoulder/elbow arthroscopy, research and leadership. Applications usually close in the preceding December through NHS Jobs for an August start.
Intended for: Senior orthopaedic or plastic-surgery trainees and post-training surgeons seeking advanced hand-surgery experience; host-specific entry criteria apply
HOST INSTITUTION
About Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
The September 2025 BSSH host form publishes a 12-month post-CCT structure, annual August start, four-person team, NHS Jobs process and previous-December application timing.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial individual profile verified
Position / status
Consultant orthopaedic and trauma surgeon
Affiliation
Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Hand and upper limb surgery
Alfred Morris treats hand and upper limb conditions, including joint, tendon and nerve problems. His practice includes arthroscopy and joint replacement.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom · Historical 2016 form: 12 months, divided into 6 months of hand/wrist and 6 months of shoulder/elbow trainingView program profile →
British Society for Surgery of the Hand / Orthopaedic Research UK
United Kingdom · host university or NHS trust selected through the project · 2 years full-time, or longer at a minimum of 0.5 FTEView program profile →
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy