Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year clinical or 2 years clinical and research
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 year clinical or 2 years clinical and research
Clinical exposurePaediatric trauma, infection, hip disease, neuromuscular disorders, lower-limb deformity and lengthening, upper extremity, adolescent hip preservation, metabolic bone disease, skeletal dysplasia, spine deformity and sports medicine
Funding · not publishedNot published by the official programme page
DestinationCanada
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking broad paediatric orthopaedics, limb-deformity and optional structured research training
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published by the official programme page
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— official contact · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect programme enquiry; the current page does not publish the next deadline or start date
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking broad paediatric orthopaedics, limb-deformity and optional structured research training
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year broad clinical fellowship or two-year clinical-and-research pathway delivered across two linked children’s hospitals. McGill publishes the faculty, rotations, weekly clinical schedule, call, teaching and research expectations, but not the funding, eligibility or next application date.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Approximately two clinic days and two operative days weekly, protected study or research time, monthly resident teaching, journal clubs and completion of at least one clinical research project for presentation and peer-reviewed publication.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Training is split between Montreal Children’s Hospital, a Level 1 paediatric trauma centre, and Shriners Children’s Canada, which provides daily elective clinics and operating across paediatric orthopaedic subspecialties.
Assistant Professor of Surgery; Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon
Affiliation
McGill / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric spine, hip preservation, research methodology and outcomes analysis
Qualifications
MD, MHSc (Clinical Epidemiology), FRCSC
Neil Saran is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric spine, hip preservation, research methodology and outcomes analysis. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Neil Saran is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Limb deformity, paediatric hip, skeletal dysplasia and osteogenesis imperfecta
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Reggie Hamdy is listed in the cited programme evidence as primary teaching faculty for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Limb deformity, paediatric hip, skeletal dysplasia and osteogenesis imperfecta. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Reggie Hamdy is listed by the official programme source as primary teaching faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jean Ouellet is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jean Ouellet is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
FF
Faculty: François Fassier
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
François Fassier is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
François Fassier is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Thierry Benaroch is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Thierry Benaroch is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Chantal Janelle is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Chantal Janelle is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Trauma, limb lengthening and deformity correction
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Mitchell Bernstein is listed in the cited programme evidence as primary teaching faculty for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, limb lengthening and deformity correction. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mitchell Bernstein is listed by the official programme source as primary teaching faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
McGill University / Montreal Children’s Hospital / Shriners Children’s Canada
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Thierry Pauyo is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for McGill Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery & Limb Deformity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Thierry Pauyo is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking broad paediatric orthopaedics, limb-deformity and optional structured research training