Well sourced · Missing funding, official contact, entry requirements
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
Not published
Deadline
31 October 2026
Duration
12 months (1 August–31 July)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
27 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months (1 August–31 July)
Clinical exposureHigh-volume adult foot-and-ankle reconstruction at St. Paul's Hospital, with approximately 1,000 cases annually, clinical teaching and research
Funding · not publishedThe programme requires an approved funding source and states that funding follows sponsor or UBC fellowship guidelines; the amount is not published
DestinationCanada
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The official page provides an international application route but applicants must satisfy UBC, hospital, registration and immigration requirements
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
The programme requires an approved funding source and states that funding follows sponsor or UBC fellowship guidelines; the amount is not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
69% of core application fields verified
Checked 27 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-23. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— official contact · not published by the cited official source— accreditation / organisation source · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline31 October 2026
Commencing date1 August
Application route / cycleThe official page links to the online application and mailing list for the 2029–2030 intake
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year UBC adult foot-and-ankle reconstruction fellowship with three to four places and approximately 1,000 cases annually. The official page publishes a 31 October 2026 deadline and a prospective application pathway for the 2029–2030 intake.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of British Columbia / St. Paul's Hospital
The UBC fellowship is based at St. Paul's Hospital and combines adult reconstructive surgery, high operative volume, research and university teaching.
Oliver J. Gagné is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Oliver J. Gagné is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Alastair Younger is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Alastair Younger is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Kevin Wing is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kevin Wing is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Murray Penner is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Murray Penner is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Andrea Veljkovic is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Andrea Veljkovic is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hooman Sadr is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship faculty for UBC Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Hooman Sadr is listed by the official programme source as fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The official page provides an international application route but applicants must satisfy UBC, hospital, registration and immigration requirements
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.