✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
CAD 91,710.67 salary plus benefits for 2027–28
Deadline
31 October 2026
Duration
1 or 2 years, 1 August–31 July
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
13 Aug 2026
Duration · published1 or 2 years, 1 August–31 July
Clinical exposureComprehensive paediatric spinal-deformity care including early-onset scoliosis, cervical spine, spinal oncology, trauma, advanced deformity correction and growth-modulation techniques
Funding · publishedCAD 91,710.67 salary plus benefits for 2027–28
DestinationCanada
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed an approved orthopaedic residency programme · Meet UBC, hospital, registration and immigration requirements for the appointed training year
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
CAD 91,710.67 salary plus benefits for 2027–28
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
76% of core application fields verified
Checked 13 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-09. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline31 October 2026
Commencing dateThe page still lists 1 August 2026 as immediate availability; that date has passed
Application route / cycleContact UBC for the next available start; the current page also gives a 31 October 2026 deadline for the 2029–30 intake
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed an approved orthopaedic residency programme
Meet UBC, hospital, registration and immigration requirements for the appointed training year
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A paid one- or two-year paediatric spine fellowship with two positions and a clearly published deformity curriculum. Because the page’s ‘immediate’ 1 August 2026 start has passed, the listing directs applicants to confirm the next opening rather than presenting that date as active.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Dedicated spine clinics and operative lists, weekly rounds, teaching, paediatric trauma call and mandatory research encouraged through publication.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of British Columbia / BC Children’s Hospital
The BC Children’s paediatric spine service provides dedicated deformity clinics and operative lists for children across British Columbia.
Paediatric spinal deformity and growth-friendly spine surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Firoz Miyanji is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for UBC Pediatric Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric spinal deformity and growth-friendly spine surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Firoz Miyanji is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of British Columbia / BC Children’s Hospital
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Arvindera Ghag is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for UBC Pediatric Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Arvindera Ghag is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
University of British Columbia / BC Children’s Hospital
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Andrea Simmonds is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for UBC Pediatric Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Andrea Simmonds is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons who have completed an approved residency and are pursuing paediatric spine and deformity expertise