Faculty / program leadership: Lisca Drittenbass · Mathieu Assal · Victor Dubois-Ferrière
Profile completeness78%
Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6 or 12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureHigh-volume academic/private foot and ankle practice with broad primary and tertiary exposure (forefoot, midfoot, hindfoot, ankle, sports, trauma, diabetic, rheumatologic and post-traumatic cases; minimally invasive surgery, arthroscopy, navigated surgery). Designed as one-on-one education without on-call, night, weekend or emergency-room duties; weekly research sessions (journal club, case presentations), clinics with pedorthists, orthotists and physiotherapists, anatomy dissection, and travel to the annual Academy meeting and SFAS. Fellows are encouraged to do research. In operating rooms fellows take part in complex procedures (per fellow testimonials); the page does not state the precise level of independent operating.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Open to doctors from all over the world (fellows have come from Argentina, Nepal, Canada, Spain, Malaysia, India and others).
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY72% of core application fields verifiedChecked 3 Oct 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing date1 April or 1 October (ending 31 March or 30 September)
Application route / cycleAll positions are currently occupied; the page states admissions will reopen in March 2028 for positions starting October 2028.
Described as for "doctors in training from all over the world"; the page does not state formal eligibility criteria
Application documents
Complete application including CV and cover letter (incomplete applications will not be considered)
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 6 or 12 month foot and ankle fellowship at Centre ASSAL in Geneva with high-volume surgery and research and no call duties; currently full, next intake October 2028.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
None listed.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Centre ASSAL / Hirslanden Clinique La Colline (FORTĒ Foundation)
Centre ASSAL is a Geneva foot and ankle centre at Hirslanden Clinique La Colline whose surgeons include past SFAS presidents.