Faculty / program leadership: Andreas Abitbol · Aurore Debet · Patrick Houvet · Marc Juvenspan · Victor Katz · Katja Malze · Frédérique Mazodier · Stéphane Romano · Charles Schlur · Johanna Sekri
Profile completeness80%
Comprehensive · Missing funding
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
Usually 6 months including leave; may be shortened to fit the candidate's training obligations or extended if schedule allows
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureFull-time (Monday to Friday) clinical placement: the fellow is treated as a specialist in training, attends consultations and the operating list (two or three residents needed in theatre depending on the list), takes part in the weekly staff meeting and the institute's symposia, and shares the on-call rota including emergencies. Teaching covers adult and paediatric upper-limb surgery: trauma, flap surgery, peripheral nerve and microsurgery, congenital malformations, carpal surgery, and shoulder, elbow and wrist arthroscopy. The page does not state the legal status or the degree of independent operating.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
The page does not name nationalities. The institute's page of past fellows (2010 to 2019, historical only) lists fellows from several countries (e.g. Tunisia, Lebanon, Brazil, Romania, Moldova, Germany), and the institute page says it brings in young surgeons from around the world.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration and licensing requirements are not published by the cited source.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published (the page does not state the administrative status or permit under which fellows are hosted).
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY69% of core application fields verifiedChecked 3 Oct 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleRolling: three posts per semester; no application window is published.
Official contactInstitut Français de Chirurgie de la Main (the page names no coordinator; the surgeon responsible for residents is not named)+33 1 53 65 53 53
Training as a specialist in orthopaedic or plastic surgery
French must be mastered, spoken and written
Application documents
Curriculum vitae
Letters of recommendation
Reports from previous placements
Cover letter (lettre de motivation)
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
Six-month hand-surgery fellowship for orthopaedic or plastic surgeons at a Paris private hand institute, with an allowance and French required.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Monthly allowance (amount not published); two weeks' leave per semester; the fellow can give at least one oral communication and write an article with help from a surgeon of the group; library and multimedia room access.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Institut Français de Chirurgie de la Main (IFCM), Clinique Victor Hugo
Hand and upper-limb surgery institute at Clinique Victor Hugo, 5 rue du Dôme, 75116 Paris, founded 1997 by a group of surgeons trained in Paris hospitals; it reports about 10,000 new patients and more than 4,000 specialised operations a year and runs an SOS Mains emergency service.