Well sourced · Missing application deadline, commencement date, entry requirements
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
ISAKOS records private support; no salary, amount or covered-expense breakdown is published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
3 months
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 months
Clinical exposureObservation and assistance in arthroscopic knee surgery including meniscal repair, single- and double-bundle ACL reconstruction, MPFL reconstruction and collateral-ligament reconstruction, with clinical-research opportunities
Funding · publishedISAKOS records private support; no salary, amount or covered-expense breakdown is published
DestinationFinland
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
ISAKOS records private support; no salary, amount or covered-expense breakdown is published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleThe centre supports direct application for the three-month programme; confirm the next available placement directly
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A three-month, two-place Tampere knee-ligament fellowship centred on arthroscopic observation and assistance, from meniscal repair to multi-ligament reconstruction. Private support is listed, but its amount and the next placement are not published.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Direct application, focused knee-ligament operative observation and assistance, and participation in the centre's clinical-research activity
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Sports Medicine and Arthroscopic Center Mehiläinen
Mehiläinen confirms that Timo Järvelä directs the programme, that two international orthopaedic fellows attend each year and that each placement lasts three months.
Programme director · Associate ProfessorOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Mehiläinen Tampere
Clinical focus
Knee ligament reconstruction, arthroscopy and clinical research
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Timo Järvelä is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme director · associate professor for Tampere Knee Ligament Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee ligament reconstruction, arthroscopy and clinical research. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Timo Järvelä is listed by the official programme source as programme director · associate professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
ISAKOS public-directory identity, duration, capacity and programme chair checked 2026-08-25.