Well sourced · Missing application deadline, commencement date, entry requirements
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced— Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
No salary or institutional financial support for living expenses; fellows must be self-funded
Deadline
Not published
Duration
3 months
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 months
Clinical exposureKnee arthroscopy, osteotomy and arthroplasty; paediatric orthopaedics; hip and shoulder arthroscopy and arthroplasty; spine endoscopy; sports medicine; laboratory visits and affiliated-hospital observation
Funding · publishedNo salary or institutional financial support for living expenses; fellows must be self-funded
DestinationJapan
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
No salary or institutional financial support for living expenses; fellows must be self-funded
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Verified institution logo not available · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect application is listed; no dated intake, deadline or current vacancy is published
Official contactKazuya Nishino, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A non-customisable three-month, three-place Osaka fellowship spanning paediatric and adult joint preservation, sports medicine and multiple affiliated hospitals. Seven faculty and broad operative-observation and laboratory exposure are published; the programme explicitly provides no salary or living-expense support.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Accommodation suggestions, direct application, basic- and sports-science laboratory visits, and optional observation at Osaka City General Hospital and other affiliated centres
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
The institution offers practical suggestions about accommodation but does not provide a housing allowance or publish accommodation costs
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Osaka Metropolitan University's official orthopaedic department page confirms the host department and address. The ISAKOS record adds the three-month structure, three annual places, partner hospitals and multi-subspecialty faculty.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Hidetomi Terai is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Hidetomi Terai is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
YH
Faculty: Yusuke Hashimoto
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Yusuke Hashimoto is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Yusuke Hashimoto is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
KN
Faculty: Kazuya Nishino
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kazuya Nishino is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kazuya Nishino is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
RS
Faculty: Ryo Sugama
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ryo Sugama is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ryo Sugama is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DN
Faculty: Dr Nakagawa
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Dr Nakagawa is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Dr Nakagawa is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DM
Faculty: Dr Manaka
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Dr Manaka is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Dr Manaka is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
TT
Faculty: Tomohiro Tomihara
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Osaka Metropolitan University and affiliated hospitals
Clinical focus
Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Tomohiro Tomihara is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Osaka Paediatric and Adult Joint Preservation and Sports Medicine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric Orthopaedics training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Tomohiro Tomihara is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
ISAKOS public-directory identity, duration, capacity and programme chair checked 2026-08-25.