Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
Recommended 1–4 weeks
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
27 Aug 2026
Duration · publishedRecommended 1–4 weeks
Clinical exposureApproximately 12–18 hours of clinic and 15–20 cases per week across adult foot-and-ankle trauma, arthroscopy, arthroplasty, joint preservation, neurologic and diabetic foot, reconstruction and infection; scrub-in and research participation depend on capacity and length of stay
Funding · not publishedFinancial support may be possible by direct enquiry; amount, criteria and covered expenses are not published
DestinationPortugal
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Orthopaedic surgeon seeking focused clinical development or specialisation in foot and ankle surgery
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Financial support may be possible by direct enquiry; amount, criteria and covered expenses are not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
69% of core application fields verified
Checked 27 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-23. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect enquiry through the fellowship team; no fixed intake dates are published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Orthopaedic surgeon seeking focused clinical development or specialisation in foot and ankle surgery
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A short Lisbon foot-and-ankle surgical immersion with a recommended one-to-four-week stay, 15–20 weekly cases and possible scrub-in, research and financial support subject to direct confirmation. The official team page names seven current surgeons.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Potential scrub-in and clinical-research participation subject to attendance numbers and length of stay
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals in Lisbon, Portugal is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes approximately 12–18 clinic hours and 15–20 cases weekly across adult reconstruction, arthroscopy, arthroplasty, neurologic and diabetic foot, infection and complex trauma; scrub-in depends on attendance and fellow status.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Manuel Resende Sousa is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Manuel Resende Sousa is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery / Hospital da Luz Lisboa
Clinical focus
Foot and ankle arthroscopy, minimally invasive surgery, reconstruction and sports trauma
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
João Vide is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship programme director for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot and ankle arthroscopy, minimally invasive surgery, reconstruction and sports trauma. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
João Vide is listed by the official programme source as fellowship programme director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel Mendes is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel Mendes is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DS
Faculty: Daniel Sá da Costa
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel Sá da Costa is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel Sá da Costa is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
ES
Faculty: Emanuel Seiça
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Emanuel Seiça is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Emanuel Seiça is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
FF
Faculty: Francisco Flores
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Francisco Flores is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Francisco Flores is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JC
Faculty: João Caetano
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Foot & Ankle Surgery Lisbon / three private teaching hospitals
Clinical focus
Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
João Caetano is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Lisbon Foot & Ankle Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Foot & Ankle training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
João Caetano is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
ISAKOS public-directory identity, duration, capacity and programme chair checked 2026-08-25.