Faculty / program leadership: Joan Carles Monllau García
Profile completeness62%
Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
15 Aug 2026
Duration · published6 months
Clinical exposureKnee arthroscopy, meniscal and ligament surgery, patellofemoral instability, joint preservation, osteotomy, cartilage transplantation, arthroplasty, revision and sports trauma
Funding · not publishedNot published by the official unit page
DestinationSpain
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published by the official unit page
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 15 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-11. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect enquiry; a deadline and commencement date are not published on the official unit page
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A six-month knee fellowship listed by ISAKOS and anchored to ICATME's original hospital-unit page. The host publishes the faculty, target audience and broad case mix, but not the stipend, application deadline or current intake date.
HOST INSTITUTION
About ICATME, Hospital Universitari Dexeus
ICATKNEE is the dedicated knee unit of ICATME at Hospital Universitari Dexeus. Its official page covers complex sports, preservation and reconstructive knee surgery and lists a seven-surgeon medical team.
Knee Unit Lead and fellowship supervisorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliation
ICATKNEE / ICATME, Hospital Universitari Dexeus
Clinical focus
Knee arthroscopy, meniscal transplantation, ligament reconstruction, cartilage and joint-preservation surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Joan Carles Monllau García is listed in the cited programme evidence as knee unit lead and fellowship supervisor for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee arthroscopy, meniscal transplantation, ligament reconstruction, cartilage and joint-preservation surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
ICATME describes Professor Monllau as an internationally recognised knee surgeon, academic supervisor and pioneer of meniscal transplantation in Spain and Europe.
Simone Perelli is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Simone Perelli is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Ángel Masferrer Pino is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ángel Masferrer Pino is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Raúl Torres Claramunt is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Raúl Torres Claramunt is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Daniel Pérez Prieto is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel Pérez Prieto is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Francisco Simón Sánchez is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Francisco Simón Sánchez is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Nicola Pizza is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for ICATKNEE Fellowship Program. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Nicola Pizza is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The unit reports more than 20 years of experience in corrective osteotomy and joint preservation and identifies its team as an early European centre for meniscal and fresh-cartilage transplantation. ISAKOS public-directory identity, duration, capacity and programme chair checked 2026-08-25.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic residents and specialists seeking advanced knee and arthroscopy training